We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Santa in Bunratty - Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunratty Castle

Bunratty Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.96*
and up
Bunratty Castle and Folk Park Admission Ticket
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Bunratty
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: unratty Castle & Folk Park is a must on your itinerary to Ireland. This is your chance to experience a window on Ireland’s past and explore the acclaimed 15th century Bunratty Castle and the 19th century Bunratty Folk Park. Bunratty Castle Welcome to Bunratty Castle, the most complete and authentic medieval castle in Ireland. Built in 1425 it was restored in 1954 to its former medieval splendor and now contains mainly 15th and 16th century furnishings, tapestries, and works of art which capture the mood of those times. Bunratty Folk Park Enjoy the sights, sounds tastes, scents, of this enchanting place as you stroll from house to house or around the charming village street complete with school, post office, doctors house, hardware shop, printers and of course McNamara’s pub! meet the village characters, sample some freshly baked bread by our resident Bean an Ti's (woman of the house) and for little visitors explore of quaint fairy village and pirate adventure playground
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Santa in Bunratty - Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Brought our 14, 11 and 9-year olds to see Santa in Bunratty yesterday. We had a 6pm appointment and arrived at about 5.40pm. After being welcomed, we were able to tour the folk park which was very well decorated for the season. We were called for Santa at about 6.15pm and had a very enjoyable visit. Our 11 and 9-year-olds were scheduled for the visit, and the 14-year-old was able to stand-in for a photo without any problems. Santa was very nice, and was able to 'have the craic' with us. We were then able to go back to the folk park, see a puppet show (very good!) and tour the various shops and attractions. We finished-up by meeting Mrs. Claus who was very entertaining.

Overall, a very successful visit that I would highly recommend!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
12 Thank BMooreIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,796
    848
    237
    67
    33
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co clare
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

we had a great night out on sat 10th it was a christmas evening with mulled wine reception 3 course meal with unlimited wine and christmas music with the bunratty folk singers we had guests from scotland and all said it was a fantastic nights entertainment. all for 35 euro per person.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank davidCoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experiance of a life time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The best ever,I went thair with my children when they were small,and not realy expencive,and when you you are in you can stay i think as long as you like and last year,iplay with a cali band Shaskeen and clare FM done a live show from the folk park and were playing there for that,but all the ladies that wer working there wer able tto play music music and sing even the older girls that wer making the brown bread and apple tarts,i just bring their names to mind at the moment it was just a fantastic experiance.And im told that Christmas is realy magical!!.so it realy takes you back in time,and take a bit of time to look around so if your going to Ireland,its a must Kind regards Pat Broderick

Helpful?
1 Thank patbroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bunratty Castle Folk Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Great dinner and show! Very central to our location.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tantakatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Very Tourist-trapy, but we still had fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We really enjoyed climbing all through the castle. Many other castles still have weathered, undressed stone, but this one had been plastered, white washed, and furnished. You're able to climb nearly every stair and we spent more than an hour doing so.

The folk park is interesting. I'm not sure that it's all that more comfortable to live in the castle as opposed to some of the houses, but it was a good contrast. Make sure you stop in the rich farmer's house and speak with the goodwife, she will give you some griddle bread and scones samples! TASTY!!!

We also ate at the pub further up the "folk park" street.

If you're tired of castles but still like to poke your nose into different types of residences, then this was a great place. I enjoyed seeing all of the different houses, school room, shop, church, mills, dairy......

We dragged this out into an all-day affair, but it's certainly possible to see just about all of it in half a day if you're in a hurry.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bunratty Castle also viewed

 
Bunratty, County Clare
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Bunratty Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing