We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bar and restuarant”
Review of Durty Nelly's

Durty Nelly's
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Bunratty
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Durty Nelly’s is one of Ireland’s most famous pubs and offers a truly unique Irish experience through its history and character. Often copied but never replaced, this truly unique piece of Irish heritage dates back to 1620. Enjoy the craic agus ceoil at the world-renowned Durty Nelly’s where we offer live Traditional Irish music every weekend, host festivals all year ’round, and even welcome a few celebrities on occasion!Durty Nelly’s is famed for our extensive and great-value menus in The Bar, Loft & Oyster Restaurants. Whether it be a quick bite or a special meal, our top-class chefs will cater to every taste and budget, providing an unforgettable dining experience.
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Went there for a drink and snack and found the bar and lounge to be well appointed. Staff were friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere in the place. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you John F For Your Recent Review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed your meal. We do pride ourselves in excellent customer care and do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Durty nellys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 197 of 2,002 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Bunratty Castle Hotel just across the road from Durty Nelly’s and were told about the amazing mussels you could get here so we visited for lunch on our last day in Bunratty.

We managed to squeeze our buggy through the door and find a space at a table near the bar. Inside the pub is plastered in police and fire station patches from what seemed to be every place imaginable in the US. The patches coupled with the original features of this proper old fashioned pub make the atmosphere inside warm, cosy and welcoming and my eldest son enjoyed spotting all the different and interesting patches everywhere he looked.

I had a bowl of the steamed mussels (a mountain of them served in a white wine and cream sauce with a couple of slices of garlic bread) and they were as good as we had been told! Washed down with a pint of Guinness they made for an excellent lunch. They also had my wife and I’s favourite drink Hoegaarden on tap which is a rare treat!

We arrived at just after 12:30 and whilst we ate the placed filled up steadily and by the time we were ready for leaving it was packed - testament to how good it is!

If you’re in the area I highly recommend a visit and I definitely recommend the mussels - easily the best I’ve ever had. I only wish we had had a chance to visit earlier on our short visit to Ireland and been able to spend an evening here.

Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you Jamie P for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed your meal. You are right our mussels are delicious and sourced locally. We do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Durty nellys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

We ordered food and some drinks.
Staff were friendly
Food was pub grub, fairly high cost at the average main meal around 15-20.
It has a theme with lots of memorabilia around to view.
Food was nice, not fancy but simple pub grub. I was later informed the salmon and muscles were the items I should have had as they are the best so that I will try another time.
Good staff. Even when busy meals only took around 20mins.
It's not the type to cater for dietary requirements but a simple menu.
Not good for disabled access as toilets seem to only be upstairs

1  Thank Laura f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you Laura F for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Next time do try our mussels are salmon as they are delicious and sourced locally. At Durty nellys we do cater for all dietary requirement & we do also do have disable access and a disable toilet, any member of staff would have told you if you had of asked. We do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Durty nellys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Durty Nelly’s has an amazing atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff. Would recommend to anyone!

Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you Shannon G for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and enjoyed your visit. We do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Durty nellys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

really cool old style pub, service fantastic, food outstanding, nicest mussels ever :)
if around again def will pop in again

1  Thank Kaspar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you Kaspar K for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and enjoyed your visit. All our mussels are sourced locally and are delicious. We do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Durty nellys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Durty Nelly's also viewed

Bunratty, County Clare
Bunratty, County Clare
 
Bunratty, County Clare
 

Been to Durty Nelly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing