We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Enchanting”

Lafcadio Hearn Japanese Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$5.99*
and up
Lafcadio Hearn Japanese Gardens Admission Ticket and Tour
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Tramore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Lafcadio Hearn Japanese Gardens reflect the life and extensive wanderings of Patrick Lafcadio Hearn, who grew up in Ireland, and whose life journey embraced several parts of the world. The gardens pay homage to the fame he attained in Japan through his incomparable literary descriptions of the people, customs and culture of that country. The Lafcadio Hearn Japanese Gardens have a wonderful and unique story to tell. In their style and planting they contain elements of the gardening traditions of the countries and cultures traversed by Hearn during his varied life. The journey begins in a Victorian Garden to commemorate Hearn's happy childhood summers in Tramore. There is an American Garden, a Greek Garden and a traditional Japanese Tea Garden, in addition to a Stream Garden, ponds, waterfall and an extensive woodland area. The main elements of design, in particular the use of rocks and water and the plant selection, are influenced by the tradition of a Japanese Strolling Garden.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 25 February 2017

I have visited these stunning gardens several times and found them to be as enchanting in the bleaker winter months as they are in the full bloom of summer. Each time I visit, I notice something unexpected, a new intricacy reveals itself. I am consistently disarmed by the attention to detail, by the thoughtful rendering of one man's fascinating life story in nature. These gardens make extraordinary use of a magical space and are a wonderful addition to the town of Tramore.

Thank Sadhbh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCarey83, Public Relations Manager at Lafcadio Hearn Japanese Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Thank you for your lovely review of the gardens, we are delighted you find them so interesting and we do agree they are very enchanting even in the winter months. We hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017

The staff were friendly and gave concise, interesting information about the garden (e.g. how they had to examine 100s of rocks when making the model of the Japan islands) before letting us off to explore. The gardens contain many beautiful set-pieces, and I'm sure they're even lovelier in spring. Definitely recommended if you enjoy exploring and pretty gardens.

Thank moopersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCarey83, Public Relations Manager at Lafcadio Hearn Japanese Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you in the gardens again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Am just now writing the review for our October visit to the gardens, and what an unexpected surprise it was! Had not been in Tramore in a couple of years and we were very pleasantly surprised to learn there was a new "attraction" in the town and one that does not relate to the beach or water sports! The story behind the garden is fascinating and the tour is worth the time as you learn how the gardens came into being and about the very interesting life of Lofcadio Hearn. Each segment of the garden tells a portion of his story, ie his roots in Tramore, his time in America, and his notoriety in Japan. We would love to go back in the spring or summer and see the gardens again. An added bonus was a special evening Halloween presentation of Japanese ghost stories. The garden had pumpkin jack-o-lanterns and lights everywhere and each story was narrated and acted out by local students. Our kids loved running around the gardens in the "spooky dark", though some of the tiny children were a little scared. I read recently that they had a light ceremony for Christmas with a local choir etc and that the gardens are illuminated through Christmas. They seem to think up something seasonal in addition to the daily tours, etc.

Well worth the time, and you get to see a bit of Tramore House as the Japanese Garden is set in what used to be the gardens of the house. Bridge, a small stream, and a lovely, lovely setting overlooking the beach and bay.

Thank martha6262014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCarey83, Public Relations Manager at Lafcadio Hearn Japanese Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to do it. We have created 'The Enchanted Garden' for the Christmas Holidays, it is a display of Winter Lights throughout the garden and is really Magical. We hope you can get to see this, lights will be switched on again 4.30pm - 7.00pm on St Stephen's Night and run every evening through to New Year's Eve, we will have a choir and even there at 4pm. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

The Lafcadio Hearne Garden in Tramore is a beautiful and peaceful place to visit. Probably better without the children although they did enjoy it. You can take a guided tour but you can also just wander through in your own time. It's outdoors obviously so you need the weather.

Thank j0sephm146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCarey83, Public Relations Manager at Lafcadio Hearn Japanese Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit. If you are in Tramore over Christmas we have turned it into an Enchanted Garden by switching on a wonderland of light from 4.30pm - 7.00pm each evening. It is not to be missed.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Visited the gardens today with a group. Was very impressed!! The story behind the gardens is fascinating. Our tour guide, Kevin was very measured and informative in his delivery. The stories he told were entertaining and informative for all ages. It's not just about the plants and landscaping, although both of those are very beautiful also. It's really about the colorful Irish man whose life inspired the gardens. Spoil alert!! He wasn't a gardener! I came away feeling enriched.

Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCarey83, Public Relations Manager at Lafcadio Hearn Japanese Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

We are so happy you had such a great experience during your visit to the gardens, yes we agree the story of the gardens does really add to the entire visit and doing the tour is a must. We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a lovely review of the Lafcadio Hearn Japanese Gardens. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lafcadio Hearn Japanese Gardens also viewed

Tramore, County Waterford
Tramore, County Waterford
 
Tramore, County Waterford
Tramore, County Waterford
 

Been to Lafcadio Hearn Japanese Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing