We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A real treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A real treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

If staff make an hotel, then Farnham wins hands down. Everyone we met, whether local or from eastern Europe went the extra mile to make our stay memorable. The working relationship between the staff themselves was professional, friendly, calm and efficient ...and this permeated through to the guests creating an ambience of harmony and relaxation throughout the hotel.
Reception staff were smiling, happy, and eager to please and offer suggestions/advice. Rooms were clean and well furnished with comfortable beds and luxurious bedding, though I do feel that the dressing gowns provided were past their best,frayed at the edges, and in need of replacement. Shower/bathroom was clean and well equipped. Heating was excellent with no noisy A/C and was easily controlled.
Food was well above,the bar, which was the only place serving lunch was far too small with inadequate room for all who wished to eat there. Our delay was in excess of 20 minutes to get seated. The tables for two in the dining room were too small for comfort, and the toasters at the self service brealkfast were far too slow with food getting cold while waiting for the toast to brown.
Farnham Estate is a retreat awayfrom the hustle and bustle of everyday life, and we couldn't wait to escape on the 6klm nature trail. Regrettably, once past the first kilometer, we found ourselves on mud tracks which were frequently impassable due to the depth of muck and fallen trees. We were also disappointed to see huge amounts of rubbish/litter/garbage washed up on the land adjacent to the lakes...obviously the result of people dumping into the lake. There was no sign of wildlife other than a few ducks on the lake...not a blackbird, or robin, let alone a rabbit, squirrel, otter, fox or deer. I think on the two days we ventured out we were the only people who succeeded in completing the entire walk, and this was thanks to our persistence and stout walking boots. So if you are unsure of your footing or footwear, are pushing a buggy, or wearing your Carrie Bradshaws...then just go to the gym where you will be well treated in lovely surroundings. And do have a swim in the lovely indoor/outdoor heated pool.
This is an hotel to be recommended and would deserve the 5* if it hadn't been for the negatives outlined above. Let's hope these walkways are repaired and upgraded, the dressing gowns replaced and the cellar bar opened for lunch...then this hotel is as close to perfection as one can get.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the gym as you will have no privacy unless you pull the blackout blinds, leaving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianna462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,559
    655
    269
    102
    68
See reviews for
343
1,587
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My daughter and I took a trip to Farnham House, midweek, at the end of January. The drive from the road to the hotel was beautiful. Long and winding through fields and under a little bridge. Staff at reception were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The hotel looked clean and comfortable. The shiny mirror filled lifts were beautiful and always shiny despite continuous use.
We loved the room, the Chaise Longue at the end of the bed with the orange cushion on it, the woodland picture over the bed and the orange chair. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was very clean.
We put on the comfortable white dressing gowns and slippers and headed for the spa. For us it was bliss. Sun shining in the big windows, great view of the countryside, loads of beds with comfortable pillows on them. The pool was good too and I really enjoyed lying in the outdoor pool on a frosty night looking at the stars. There was always a jugs of water and juices available in the spa. In the mornings we went for walks and runs on the tracks through the forest and along the lake.
The breakfast area, food and staff were fantastic. Really enjoyed the breakfast. We ate dinner in the cellar area on both nights. It was very cold on both nights but it is a nice place. Staff were very helpful and nice. The Shepherds pie was the best I have ever eaten. The Vegetarian curry not good.
We were so happy to spend the days in our comfort clothes and had no desire to leave the hotel. When we left on Friday morning, check out went smoothly, staff were very friendly and we were happy and relaxed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAFEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Just returned from our stay in the beautiful Farnham Estate and we could not be more relaxed and happy.

We booked a two-night package that included B&B, one evening meal and 25min Spa treatments each. Very reasonably priced.

The driveway down is amazing; golf course and panoramic views each side. We were met in the carpark by George, who drove us to the reception door giving us a brief history of the estate and guidance on the walks.

The Hotel interior is gorgeous. Perfect blend of contemporary and traditional. Our bedroom was amazing, huge window overlooking the outdoor pool and the breathtaking views of the countryside. The facilities in the room are first-class, with an easy-to-use A/C, rainfall shower and separate bath (with speakers in the bathroom), huge bed and TV, everything you could want.

We got barfood and drinks in the Wine Cellar on the first evening, There was a relaxed atmosphere in this area, with bricked walls and candles everywhere. The barmen were very efficient and friendly.

Breakfast the next morning was buffet style. Very good selection, good tasting food, friendly service and gorgeous views of the garden and grounds.

Despite the weather not being great, we decided to go for a walk. It was so relaxing and takes you right to the edge of the lake and around. Definitely recommend. There is an entrance to the Hotel where you can take off your muddy shoes and change into slippers. Very handy.

We then went to the Spa for our treatments and use of the pool and hydro-spa area. I had a facial by Aisling and himself got a back, neck and shoulder massage. Both were excellent! The infinity pool is gorgeous. It is a warm temperature so that you can swim outside and gaze over the mountains. The hydro-spa are is good - the steam rooms could be steamier and there should be dry towels available instead of having to trek back up to the spa reception. But they are only little points, we still thoroughly enjoyed it.

We ordered room service snacks after the Spa to tide us over until dinner. Unfortunately, the order didn't go through so it was very late, however this was handled with the utmost professionalism and the waitress managed to turn the situation around. Very impressed!

Later that evening, we had dinner in the Botanica restaurant. The setting for evening meals is lovely and the service is very friendly. I ordered Sorbet to start (still a little full from the room service- silly me!), Seabass and Creme Brulee. The other half ordered Goats Cheese, Lamb and the brownie. Each course was gorgeous and the side dishes of mash and veg were very tasty! Washed down with a New Zealand white wine, and a creme de menth, we were very happy leaving! Again, enjoyed some after-dinner drinks in the Cellar.

We availed of a late check out the next day until 5,30pm, with an extra cost of €25. Totally worth it! We got breakfast in bed, then spent a few more hours in the pool and spa. Check out was efficient and we got dropped back to the car by George again who remembered us, and was genuinely happy that we enjoyed our stay!

10 out of 10 for this stay. The estate, the grounds, the service, the food, the design... everything is top notch. I recommend for couples.

One small negative: There are a couple of women on the Spa reception who come across quite rude with their tone. One woman on the phone while booking, another when I checked in and wanted to confirm times, and another in person when we poked our heads in to have a look after checking-in. Did not take away from our stay at all, we just brushed it off, but it just stood out as everyone else in the Hotel is very friendly.

Room Tip: Top Floor rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kbell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I just returned from a two night stay and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed myself and my partner did as well. Beautiful grounds of the hotel, very friendly staff and very helpful. Lovely modern room spacious and nice size bath and separate shower also spacious. Food was excellent. I was extremely pleased at the choice on the set menu in the botanica restaurant. Very very nice waiting staff, food served promptly. Food was well presented, great choices. Quality was outstanding. We also had the bar food in the cellar on one evening and this was very tasty and inexpensive as well. Nice bar to have a drink and tasty food.

We did the spa all day on the Saturday which was so relaxing. The pool is lovely and slightly heated. The water suite was lovely too. I enjoyed all the saunas etc! Myself and my partner had a spa treatment as well each, staff were well presented in appearance, very professional in their work and made us feel very relaxed, welcomed and provided a totally chilled environment. Loved the fact that everyone walks around in the slippers and robes for the day (which are provided for you for your stay). We had lunch in the spa restaurant which provides healthy food options like salads and soups
etc which were Delish! Great mini bar in each room.

Overall, we had an extremely pleasant stay, very enjoyable. We will be back.

If I was to point out any bad points..pool outdoors could be slightly heated more, had to walk from carpark to hotel which is a bit of a walk with bags as the shuttle bus could come a little more often. Other than that....no bad points. Great place for a couples retreat.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meabhk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Farnham Estate
County Cavan
Ireland
Tel: [--]

On the 11th February 2012 I travelled to Farnham Estate in County Cavan to enjoy a day of relaxation and self-indulgence, and why not. When I arrived at Farnham Estate I parked in the extensive car parking facilities and decided to take a walk in the grounds of the estate before checking in for my pre-booked massage and use of the health spa facilities.

The Farnham Estate is set in 1300 acres of naturally landscaped grounds, giant Oaks stand proud, surrounded by a tapestry of winter colour. Meadow grasses whisper in the mild breeze, as Farnham Lake gently sends its waves on to the rocks of the rush covered shore line. Spring tickles the forest floor with its patchwork of snow-drops and bluebells, rabbits scurrying along the lush green meadows as grey and red squirrels continue to wrestle for domination. The morning sun breaks through the forest canopy as an orchestra of Finches, Thrushes and Blackbird compete for the Voice of Ireland.

The tall forest canopy brings a sense of tranquillity that is only punctuated by the gentle sounds of nature, this church like harmony echoes across the manicured greens of the 18 hole golf course. The combination of forestation, aquatic flows and splashes, sweeping hills and deep arching valleys leave the Farnham Estate a natural wonder that has stood the test of time.

Upon entering the Farnham Hotel it is clear that my walk in the ancient forests is to be complemented with contemporary architecture, tasteful decoration and architectural restoration. The receptionist is professional and polite and I am directed to the Health Spa reception area, upon entering the Spa reception one is immediately at ease with a sense of well-being and professionalism. I was escorted to the Spa facilities where I enjoyed a variety of sauna treatments, ice wash facilities, reflexology and shower utilities. Following my various body, mind and spirit enriching treatments, I relaxed on specially designed furniture and enjoyed freshly cut fruit and nicely chilled fruit flavoured water.

Have rested following my Spa treatments it was time for my massage, this was a wonderful experience, the demons of a hard weeks work were cast out of my body by a highly trained dedicated professional. This entire experience and treatment process, including fresh towels, bathrobe, slippers, fresh fruit, and chilled water, cost a total of 50 Euro.

The Farnham Estate is a national treasure that offers a rare glimpse of the best of Irish traditions including hospitality, welcome, natural beauty, and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being.

The only way to describe Farnham Estate is to experience it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitingDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
14.7 km away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
4.4 km away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 km away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
20.7 km away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
21.9 km away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Property: Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Address: Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing