We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom doors are ridiculous”
Review of Hotel Kilmore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kilmore
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bathroom doors are ridiculous”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed for one night, the room stank of cigarette smoke, was very small and the open slat saloon swing type double door on the loo was just ridiculous. The food at the wedding ok, breakfast was pretty awful. Check out was very early 11.30am. Overall very bad value for 140 euro, we won't be back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aaaaardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    61
    25
    18
    16
See reviews for
75
76
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This hotel won't win any design awards for its exterior appearance, somewhat like a 1970's pre-fab finish which is a pity because once inside there is a very cosy and welcoming atmosphere helped by the extremely friendly and efficient receptionists on the front desk.

We had meals from the bar menu which were good value and well presented, the service was a little slow but that seems to be the norm in Irish country hotels.

The room was spotlessly clean with a flat screen tv and was well heated as were the public areas we came across, the famous swing doors into the bathroom are a bit of an eye sore and whoever dreamt those up was definitely out of touch.

The breakfast was the usual fare from the ubiquitous hot bins.......... what a waste of good food left stewing for God knows how long, when will hotels go back to serving breakfast to their clients at the table, surely there must be a plus to be gained by presenting food which arrives freshly cooked and most importantly looks appetising.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulster
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Hotel Kilmore has a lovely homely atmosphere. Especially in front of fire in the lobby. Food was excellent and everyones needs were catered for. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Had a wonderful time.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AMFUlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Great atmosphere, comfortable clean rooms and the food was lovely! ('',) I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccrohak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Clare
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I have enjoyed another great stay at the Kilmore over the October weekend++. Our check-in was instant and done by a very pleasant and smiling receptionist (Majella). Our room was at the front of the Hotel (as requested) with a view of the rolling countryside, it is also facing easterly so we had the sunrise in the mornings. The sleep quality was very-very good with a very comfortable bed.

We dined there on Monday night in the Hotel Restaurant and both of us agreed that from start to finish the food was really great. The breakfast was also very good with no restrictions to the amount of food you put on your breakfast plate. There is also a complimentary news paper available.

The bathroom was very roomy with fresh smelling towels etc and a very large shower. The cleanliness of the bathroom was very high as was the room and the Hotel in general.

We found the family of staff very attentive and friendly in every respect. All-in-all, we really had a lovely time in the Kilmore which we used as our base for touring in the Cavan area with all it has to offer. Will we be staying there again! YES.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerCo_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
1.3 km away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
766 reviews
5.3 km away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
19.6 km away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 km away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
566 reviews
18.0 km away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
36.8 km away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilmore

Property: Hotel Kilmore
Address: Dublin Road, Cavan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kilmore 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kilmore, Cavan, situated just five minutes from Cavan Town on the main Dublin to Cavan Road.The Hotel Kilmore is the perfect blend between Old World Charm and New World Elegance. The hotel location, set amongst landscaped gardens, makes it the perfect setting for a pleasurable weekend break, lavish banquet, wedding, conference or business event. We offer our guests an uncompromising level of service, personal yet efficient. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kilmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmore Hotel Cavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing