We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Etrip
StayForLong
eDreams
Priceline
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
174
83
27
20
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
174
83
27
20
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brie would highly recommend this hotel sea view wild atlantic way kilkee bay stayed here for one night warm welcome the pub martin conservatory ireland cliffs barman walks guinness heating menus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2021 via mobile

We have been eating at this hotel for years and have many happy memories there with our kids. But it was beyond disappointing to stay there last Sunday night. We paid €141 for a ‘Deluxe Room’ and there was absolutely nothing deluxe about our stay. From the gin being served in a dirty glass to the apathetic attitude of the apparent manager it was not a pleasant stay. There was a horrendous smell from the carpet outside our room, which smelled like baby puke. I understand babies get sick (I had 3) but a warning or a change of room would have been much appreciated. The lights outside the room weren’t working, making it an ordeal to get the key in the door, it was that dark. The laundry room was right next door, which felt like home with the washing machine and dryer going constantly. There was a constant feeling of tourist fatigue in the Stella Maris which you don’t want after paying €141 euro to stay in an, at best, mediocre room. Have some respect for your customers hoteliers. You’ve spent a lot of time on the media telling us how difficult lock down has been on your businesses. Make us feel like we are welcome back in your establishments and stop ripping us off with your excessive pricing because lockdown has been hard on your customers too.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank FrequentFlier743690
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 July 2021

To keep it short and simple - friendly and warm welcome - although we had some unexpected wait and while the receptionist tried to deal with it in the best way, it wasn't enough to pass a good impression.
Upon room arrival, clean, comfortable bed, fresh sheets and tidy. But unfortunately the bathroom lacked a good cleaning and a bit more effort from the team. So please, pay attention to that!

Service - our first breakfast was disappointing unfortunately... While we were fairly greeted, as per subject, we were expecting way more or at least a full Irish breakfast and a bit more effort from the team and chef in the kitchen.

The bar - as per above, average pub food - great customer service from the girls - well mannered and friendly to prompt act if necessary.

Overall, the stella maris hotel has massive potential to be a really fantastic place if they want.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 July 2021

Having read some of the other reviews here, its obvious we must have drawn the short straw with the room we had.
It was very dated and basic with no ventilation, the only window in the room looked out onto a door where there was a ladder that was apparently the fire escape!
The noise was so excessive that at 2am I had to go down to reception to ask
the staff if they could keep it down. It settled shortly after this but only briefly as at 3am the singing started followed by the hoovering at 4am.
I found the service very impersonal and unfriendly and there wasn't a great selection available on the evening bar food menu.
While the location of the hotel is excellent unfortunately I would not recommend it particularly if you like to get a few hours sleep at night!

Room tip: Avoid Room 4
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank danielledL9605YS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 June 2021

Having stayed for business during the COVID-19 pandemic, Pauline went above and beyond expectations. Staff were extremely accommodating and welcoming. The hotel is in a great location, rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable along with a generous breakfast in the morning.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithmV2164DO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

We stayed one night in Stella Maris. Very friendly staff, Michael on reception and bar was more than welcoming. Our room was spacious and clean yet slightly dated. We enjoyed good bar food on the evening of our stay. Covid regulations abided by, good location in Kilkee.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews