We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
88
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bell tent pizza oven yoga classes camping trip camp kitchen the loop great campsite communal campfire gravel floor lovely woodland lovely hosts surrounding area sauna eco campers tents facilities
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

excellent eco camp site with all amenities on site
trea and kevin have created an unique and friendly experience in camping
excellant place to stay if you want to explore the Loop Head Penninsula and surrounding area. would recommend a stay at this campsite for everyone

Room Tip: bell tents are spacious
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt19652016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Rented a furnished bell tent for the weekend with 3 kids. Everyone loved it and we can't wait to return. Amazing amazing location, and very clean and convenient campsite. Recommend jumping off the nearby pier and getting a bite to eat in Carrigaholt.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jencal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreaH20132014, Owner at Purecamping, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you Jencal22 for this very positive review. Delighted you had enjoyed it here !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Just camped for 4 nights at beautiful Purecamping. Kevin & Trea are wonderful hosts of this true celebration of ecotourism - take your own tent or glamp in their bell tents. Fantastic eco ethos, fires allowed, yoga, pizza oven, sauna, meditation Labyrinth, camp kitchen, woodland to explore, Loop Head Peninsula - what a wonderful adventure. Thank you - we hope we can come back soon.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreaH20132014, Owner at Purecamping, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for that lovely review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful campsite. This is our second time back and we love it even more.
Trea and Kevin have created a unique and atmospheric space where children taste real freedom and adults mix and unwind.
The yoga classes both with Trea and Grainne were fantastic, a real mix of a physical challenge and to finish, pure relaxation.
Pizza making , marshmallows by the campfire and exploring in the forest create memories for life.
Thanks guys ,We will be back again.
Eoin and Dee and family.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreaH20132014, Owner at Purecamping, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thanks Dee and Eoin. As always, its a real pleasure to have you guys on site. Glad you enjoyed the atmosphere. Hope to keep going in the spirit of an eco-space, treading lightly on the earth and keeping an atmosphere of unwinding and relaxation for all. See you again, we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

I'm back from County Clare and my stay in Purecamping, full of grief and longing at having to leave the place. We had a great 10 days with Kevin and Trea, staying in the brand new Alder Cabin. It was pure luxury for a campsite and I can highly recommend. I loved that there was separate sleeping a sitting rooms meaning we could stay up easily when our son went to bed (eventually!)

The site is beautifully located within the Loop peninsula and there is heaps and heaps to do in the area. We went dolphin watching, swimming and to a number lovely local museums and natural heritage sites. The geology of the place is simply stunning.

The campsite itself is very family friendly with lots of children for our son to play with - and it's safe too - no car access to the site ensures this and it's great peace of mind. Kids especially love the woodland and the climbing tree (as did I). Other things to enjoy is the communal campfire and the camp kitchen is a very social place to meet other visitors. On Thursday a crepe van visits the site and serve delicious fare as well. There's also the pizza oven which we didn't get organised for this time but will next time. There's also a sauna onsite which is one to try again too.

And while the place is alive and buzzing with the lovely sounds of children and families there is ample opportunity for solitude and quietness too. The labyrinth walk was a daily trip for me and I enjoyed taking the time around the lovely curves and turns of the place. The woodland offers that magic that woodlands do - dappled light, muted, hollow sounds and the promise of a surprise round the next corner. Added to this Trea also provides yoga classes - I didn't get to try them on this occasion but will next time.

So what are you waiting for - Book. Book now. You'll be sad to leave the place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreaH20132014, Owner at Purecamping, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thanks Sharon for such a detailed review of our space here. Glad you got to explore and enjoy the whole Loop Head Peninsula. There are lots of hidden gems to while away your time here ... I think you discovered many of those little gems by heading out and exploring in your own time as well as leaving plenty of time to chill with your lovely little family. It was a pleasure having your here and chatting from time to time. Wishing you the best for the rest of the year and hope to see you again. Trea and Kevin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews