We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like Royalty”
Review of The K Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The K Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Treated like Royalty”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the K Club and must admit, was a blissful experience. We were met on arrival with such courtesy and attention, it was gorgeous.. Our suite was awesome and the Champagne sent to our room was a nice touch. The Cellar tour was held with such grace and very informative and a lot of fun. We dined in the River Room and dinner and service was excellant. Spa and Pool facilities were great and we would definitely go again. Soon, I hope. Pauline

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopsDoc o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    153
    91
    21
    13
See reviews for
156
400
8
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

K clubbed it this weekend. The hotel is stunning, the sofas, wallpaper, open fires, silver cutlery, decanted wine and organic products in our bathroom, all lovely. Our room was was big and comfy. We ate in the main restaurant, the service was excellent - the food unfortunately was only good. It did get better at the breakfast buffet, but we were both underwhelmed with our dinner. That and the polycotton sheets, torn pillow cases and blanket sheet situation are the reasons for four rather than five rating (I'm particular!). Everything else was spot on. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I would just like to say thank you for a wonderful experience this past weekend. Besides the 5 star golf, 5 star food and 5 star hotel i would like to commend the 6 STAR staff on a wonderful friendly and professional performance throughout my stay. Congratulations to all at the kclub. Con O Driscoll

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTempleInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I had our first visit to the K Club recently on a short break.A most impressive building from the outside it was equally beautiful on the inside- the Yeats room in particular being most attractive.
Our room was very comfortable and spacious and met all our expectations-large comfortable bed, wide screen tv,spacious bathroom etc.
Our evening meal in the River Room restaurant was good without being spectacular.Breakfast is absolutely fantastic-a wonderful and wide selection.
The K Spa boasts an excellent gym,swimming pool,steam room and sauna.
All staff we encountered were courteous and helpful.
Certainly a five star experience;can be recommended;we will visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 680George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the K Club recently and I have to say, I cannot rate the place highly enough. In particular, the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The beautiful room we were allocated overlooked the gardens and was a delight to stay in. We had dinner in the River Room in the Hotel and both the service and the food were excellent. The following morning I went to the spa for a massage, which I would definitely recommend. To finish off our fantastic trip, we had a delicious lunch in Legends restaurant in the golf club. All in all, I could not fault this place, superb from the minute we arrived until we unfortunately had to leave. Will certainly be returning, this place deserves its 5 star status!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clonkmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
10.1 km away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
13.3 km away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
10.9 km away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
431 reviews
2.0 km away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
335 reviews
10.1 km away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The K Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The K Club

Property: The K Club
Address: Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The K Club 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The K Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The k Club Hotel Straffan
k Hotel Straffan
The K Club Straffan, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing