We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable stay”
Review of The K Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The K Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

this was our first time staying in the K Club, and really enjoyed it.

We stayed in a deluxe room, which was huge, and very comfortable. It is styled very traditionally, but with nice little touches like Bose radio/CD and large queen sized bed.

We both really enjoyed just walking around the house and looking at the paintings, sculptures and tapestrys that adorn the walls and rooms. The gardens are also good, but best enjoyed during spring/summer, and not in the depths of Feb.

Food and drinks were quite expensive, but that is to be expected in one of Irelands top 5-star hotels I guess. Staff were really friendly. Breakfast was also really good.

My better half tried out the spa, and found their massages to be excellent. We both also enjoed the swimming pool and jacuzzi.

i'd highly recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed_Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for The K Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

754 - 758 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

I recently visited the K Club for a night to include some spa treatments. The overall experience was very disappointiing. They describe the spa as "one of the best". My experience was the complete opposite.
the spa is not in the hotel, you have to walk outside the hotel along a lane open to all the elements. It was raining when I was there! There is a service of transport provided but we were told it was just 2 mins walk from reception, not true. we did avail of the transport back to the hotel as we did not wish to go out in the cold after our treatments.
The spa area was like a public swiming pool full of non residents and children, not a spa like relaxing experience. we were not given towels for the pool and had to come out in wet swimsuits to request them.
the treatment rooms were sparse and cold, massage very average, facial very good.
staff very friendly. I would never return to this "spa"
It is wrong of the K Club to call this a spa as it is not.
Room was very nice but excessivly hot and noisy because of the boiler room next door. Impossible to lower the heat so sleep was impossible in this sauna.
we came down for dinner and were directed to the Legends club house, again we had to take transport. On arrival there we were told the restaurant was closed and they were only serving bar food. we stayed as we did not wish to return again in the cold to the main hotel were the main restaurant was situated but empty.
there was a man sitting at the bar all night changing channels on the tv!! Not the most pleasant dining experience.
Staff were very friendly.
Breakfast, we were shown the breakfast room on check in, however the following morning it had been changed and we had to serch the corridors to find the new breakfast room.
breakfast was cold and not what we ordered.
Overall a very bad experience and we would not return.
This hotel should not be allowed advertise a 5 star service and facilities. they do have good golf courses.

Room Tip: not room 81 too noisy
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelvalIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is our fourth time to stay at the K Club and each time we have a very good experience. The staff are very good. From the car park where you are helped with parking and taking your luggage in, to checking in and getting settled in your room, you are looked after all the way.
Our room was spacious, overlooking the river liffey with all mod cons. The bathroom was amazing, piping hot water and under floor heating with a bath nearly large enough to swim in. Very relaxing.
This time we dined in the new Thai restaurant located in the Smurfit clubhouse. We really enjoyed the setting and the food. It
was a nice alternative to fine dining without having to leave the K Club.
We really enjoyed the tour of the wine cellars and we learnt a little more about wine. Next time we will take the tour of the house and see what else we can learn.
The following morning we enjoyed a relaxing walk on the grounds on the K club down by the liffey, following a hearthy breakfast.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

It is expensive, you could possble find something similar, cheaper.

However, it is an excellent hotel. We went on a quite night and time of year, so that was more enjoyable.

The dinner was top class.

The spa area is a bit of a stroll through tunnels etc., pleasant walk though and it is very good and good to be included in the price, as you would expect

A walk on part of the gold course down to the river was very pleasant

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AL00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I just don't get what the big deal is about the K Club. Perhaps it's just not my style.. Too old, too musty, uncomfortable beds, needs to have the creature comforts added. I won't be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie-in-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
10.1 km away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
13.3 km away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
10.9 km away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
440 reviews
2.0 km away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
338 reviews
10.1 km away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The K Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The K Club

Address: Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range: €223 - €471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The K Club 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The K Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The k Club Hotel Straffan
k Hotel Straffan
The K Club Straffan, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing