We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
9
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
4
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018

We stayed here for a couple of nights as a base for exploring Co. Donegal. The place is a bit hard to find but worth it. It's on the edge of Glenveagh National Park and gives you easy access to the Wild Atlantic Way. There's a good view out the back to the hills on Glenveagh and it's only a couple of kilometer drive and you're right in the heart of the park. A bit further and you're on the coast.

The room was spotless, had all the amenities we needed. It was comfortable but a little too hot for us so we just turned off the radiators and opened the window. Our host was a wealth of information on what to see and do in the area. He pointed us to Glebe House, which is an incredibly interesting art gallery and historic home. Breakfast was full Irish, with options for cereal, yogurt and fruit, etc. We ate so much for breakfast we skipped lunch. LOL.

The only downside is that there is nowhere close for dinner. There's a couple of pubs in the village (2-3km away). Wilkins had good food but no atmosphere so next night we went to Larkins - about 10 kms away on the road to Letterkenney - a little more expensive but better atmosphere.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boba686
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We stayed here as was ideally located very close to the amazing Glenveagh National Park. Very friendly hosts. Good breakfast. Room was clean and tidy and a good size overlooking the mountainside. Only downside was the bed was so uncomfortable, it actually gave me pins and needles in my entire body... nothing a new mattress/good mattress protector cant fix!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GemM120
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2018

This family home is “definitely a hidden gem” in a gorgeous part of County Donegal with beautiful/stunning nearby views of Gartan Lough. It is conveniently located near the Glenveagh National Park and the lovely Glenveagh Castle and if you don’t mind twisting roads it is within reasonable travel to various towns and beaches. The site is tidy with manicured lawns, the house is beautifully designed with lovely artwork and has a cute dining room area and a lovely sitting / lounge room for guests. The rooms are lovely each having a standard personal-ensuite (a minimum for any B&B - as distinct from a shared or detached bathroom). The bed was adequate although we would have preferred the pillows and mattress firmer. There was a small television – but we never used it as there is too much to visit in the surrounding regions - why spoil our stay watching the idiot box! The breakfast was the standard B&B breakfast – continental with various cereals plus egg, bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes served by lovely Chloe (the Inn-Keepers daughter). For lunch and dinner, our preferred average ‘pub’ was “Larkin’s of Newsmill” (refer Trip Advisor) but there are higher quality restaurants near the various tourist sites to enjoy your dining advantage. However wherever you go in these lake and forest parts, we recommend to have plenty of insect repellent, aloe-vera gel and antihistamine cream (e.g., ‘Anthisan’ cream), etcetera, to survive the biting midge and other bugs! There was a level of B&B expertise and pastoral care appreciated at this B&B; very friendly but not over-familiar and good value for money.

Room tip: All the rooms are nice - whether upstairs or downstairs.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Koala-Linz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We stayed 2 nights here and we loved it. The room was very clean and spacious, comfy bed, nice breakfast and really great host. Internet and TV with lots of channels. We definitely would stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We stayed in May 2017 for a couple of nights, and our time was limited so convenience to Glenveagh national park (Incredible - but bring mosquito repellant!) and Errigal/Dunlewey was a big selling point. The region is every bit as scenic as we had hoped. We enjoyed our stay - slept and ate well, found our hosts welcoming and willing to go the extra mile, and very much enjoyed the company of their excitable little dog Ellie who was always up for fetch! After long days out a quiet dinner at nearby Wilkins bar in Church Hill was all we needed. I saw one of my most memorable sunsets, with a panorama vista over Gartan Lough just minutes from the house.

Room tip: Having slept one night in each, recommend the upstairs for limited noise from other guests
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KBalson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews