We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely early bird” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellow Pepper

Yellow Pepper
Ranked #2 of 110 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$26
Cuisines: Irish, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: THE YELLOW PEPPER ENJOYS THE ULTIMATE CUSTOMERS APPROVAL ITS ALWAYS BUSY. THE RESTAURNT WAS REFURBISHED in 2009 AFTER A REALLY BAD FIRE. IS LOCATED ON THE MAIN STREET CLOSE TO MANY BARS.THE FOOD IS CONTEMPERY WITH A GREAT EMPHAISE ON LOCAL PRODUCE FROM THE OWNERS GARDEN.
Dungloe Co.Donegal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely early bird”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Sunday evening 10th Feb and just had a lovely early bird menu meal. Hen night in and it so busy. Service was great as the food. Served by a little girl from co Meath who was just so pleasent. It was my first meal there but will be back soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erin723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    184
    66
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fastastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Food superb, atmosphere fantastic. Little bit of Irish with a Lot of everything you need from a good evening out. Nobody should pass through Letterkenny without dining there. xx

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundalk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Divine food!!! Atmosphere a bit lacking!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

A party of five for a celebration!!!
We went to the YP on a Friday night we had and 8pm reservation.....it was quite busy when we arrived but the crowd thinned out quickly....I'm lead to believe they do an EARLY BIRD Menu!
The general ambience and decor of the establishment is rustic chic. I found the room a little chilly but I think that had more to do with where we were seated.....and unusual choice under stairs?!?!?
But let's get on to the important part! THE FOOD!!
The fish and seafood selection was great.......I chose a mackerel starter which was lightly pan fried and had a red onion chuteney FABULOUS!!! and a truly massive portion. I think this was around the €8 mark V reasonable and could easily be shared!

For my main course I chose the Seafood platter............Well if I had have realised it would be so massive I def would have skipped the starter!! The platter consisted of a bowl of their sublime homemade seafood chowder, a large bowl of steamed mussels in a white wine and garlic light broth/sauce, a generous portion of smoked salmon dressed with horseraddish and capers, then a huge serving of salt and chilli deep fried squid rings and a large serving of the fish of the day (on our evening it was yellow fin sole a bit bitter for my palate but that's a personal choice!) ALL of the above was cooked beautifully! and I was both stuffed and satisfied!! All for the bargain price of €20.95......worth every penny!
I couldn't manage a desert but they looked lovely!
the only gripes I had about this place were we felt slightly under pressure to leave when we were finished, we would have quite happily have had some more drinks or another bottle of wine but we all felt the staff circling! However the staff were friendly and well informed during service!
Also 2 of our party had steak and weren't overly impressed at the cut of meat but it was cooked as requested!
Overall I personally really enjoyed the food it was tasty plentiful and reasonably priced!
#TOP TIP TO MANAGEMENT lose the dodgy country music background music it was cringeworthy and totally not in keeping with the trendy vibe!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 30077b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I eat here regularly and there is always a fantastic atmosphere. Food is of good quality as well and plenty of taste (as well as many specials). Recommend it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WendyMcGarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy food and wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Food amazing, warm, comfy and very friendly staff. Love the older waiter, he was so helpful and kind.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SachaFierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yellow Pepper also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Yellow Pepper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing