We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$187
TravelocityUS$187
Orbitz.comUS$187
TripadvisorUS$187
FindHotelUS$187
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
287
52
16
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
287
52
16
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room homemade biscuits blue book original house second to none sunday lunch cooked to perfection wedding reception first class following morning irene fires sweeney ireland meal mains strawberry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2021

We had the best hotel experience ever. Very cosy and charming. The quickest and most comfortable check in ever. We were brought to our room in no time, very big, bright and an incredible huge bathroom.
If you like photography the hotel has many corners and different areas to explore with and play with the different textures and lights.
We discovered this magnificent hotel through the blue book, it was a gift from our wedding and because of C19 we couldn't use it until recently.
Nevertheless the wait it's been worth it, the experience we had in Castle Grove Country House hotel is unforgettable. The beautiful premisses, the kind, helpful and welcoming staff and the outstanding food makes an overall experience of 10 out of 10.
Thanks to everyone who made this happen. We will be back.
Eli & Isabel

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elixbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene Sweeney, Owner at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2022

Dear Eli & Isabel

Thank you so much, we are so glad you enjoyed your recent visit and thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and we too look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.
Warm regards
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2021

We had our wedding reception in Castle Grove last weekend and it honestly could not have been better. The location was amazing and the service was second to none. From our first meeting with Irene we were put at ease and absolutely nothing was a problem. The food was incredible and all of our guests said it was the best wedding meal they'd ever had. The rooms are gorgeous and brilliant value for money. We really couldn't recommend Castle Grove highly enough

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 994lesleyannw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene Sweeney, Owner at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2022

Dear Lesley Ann

Thank you both so much for choosing CG for this very special day, we are delighted you and your guests had such a great time and we so very much appreciate the time to write this review. We wish you both a very happy life full of love and laughter.

Warm regards
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021

What a find! A charming period hotel with service to match. The original house rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and always on hand to help often going out of their way to make your stay that much more comfortable. The food is absolutely amazing. Looking forward to our return already.

Room tip: The room sin the original house are very charming
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocketman780
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene Sweeney, Owner at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for visiting CG. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience and thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2021

My buddies and I were in Ireland from the US on a golf trip, and we were playing some memorable northwest Irish golf courses, including Ballyliffin and Rosapenna and found this country hotel ideally suited to play these courses. The entire staff at the Hotel, including some of the owner's family, Karoline and Irene, were so attentive and really showed us a great time. The hotel is like a large B&B with very nice rooms and the accomodations are excellent. We really enjoyed our stay there, and would absolutely stay there again. We had a very early early departure at 6 AM, and they woke up early to provide us a quick breakfast and some nice takeaways for our long drive back to Dublin. Could not have asked for anything more, it was so nice! Thank you!!

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank Sitaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene Sweeney, Owner at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for staying at CG on your trip to Ireland. We are so delighted to read your kind comments, we very much hope to see you back in Donegal again and look forward to welcoming you to CG..hope life is treating you well back in the US..take good care until next time

Warm regards

Karoline & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2021

Never been here before but enjoyed every minute. Warm welcome. Friendly helpful staff. Everything was of high standard , from room and hotel cleanliness to excellent food. Close to Letterkenny but a very quiet peaceful location. Ideal for visiting many scenic places in Donegal.

Room tip: All good rooms.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noeldrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene Sweeney, Owner at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2022

Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Letterkenny, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, it makes all our efforts so worthwhile. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to CG in the near future.
Warm regards
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews