We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
219
47
14
2
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
47
14
2
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room lough swilly beautiful furniture downton abbey homemade biscuits roaring fire incredible food fresh vegetables four poster bed second to none on arrival house is beautiful dinner menu first class large room wedding reception steak
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

I recently celebrated my 50th birthday and my husband organised a surprise birthday party in the Castlegrove Country House Hotel. The venue was amazing and the food fantastic. The staff were so friendly and helpful on the night and according to hubby, they were really accommodating and helpful when it came to any requests he had in terms of his menu suggestions, etc. when he was planning the event. Having the drawing rooms available for pre-party drinks prior to entering the function room for dining and dancing was fab and added to the relaxing and chilled vibe of the evening. Myself, my family and friends had a fantastic night and I'd like to thank Mary, Irene, Caroline and all the staff at the Castlegrove for helping to make my 50th birthday celebrations a very special and memorable occasion. I'll definitely be back....

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank lorri19682018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

I booked a family meal for 6, to celebrate my sons birthday. One member of our party arrived at 9 pm-the meal had been booked for 9 pm. She was informed by a waiter that the kitchen was closed! we had been delayed, and arrived at 9:10 pm. We were very disappointed and will not be back

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank siobhanmuroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

We had an excellent dinner at Castle Grove House recently. Greeted at door and made feel very welcome. Seated in lovely drawing room for aperitifs and to consider menu. Menu was traditional country house fare with emphasis on local ingredients. All aspects of dinner were top class. Food was excellent and beautifully presented. Service was attentive, friendly and delivered by well trained and helpful waiting staff. Value for money was superb. Would recommend highly and look forward to staying overnight for next visit.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank 783foodlover2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed recently for a couples getaway. After booking a superior room we were very disappointed to find that the shower head was broken and held together by duct tape and unable to be used properly. The superior room was a little tired with some of the cushions and soft furnishings a little grubby and in need of a dry clean.
We found that the wine was overpriced.
The staff were lovely and helpful but the place is a little pretentious.
Food was delicious, although we were still hungry shortly after dinner.
It was a shame as we were looking forward to a well deserved night away.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donegal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary mid July. We received such a warm welcome on arrival and indeed all of the staff throughout our stay were so friendly and helpful.
We loved our room and enjoyed spending time in the Drawing Room having fresh tea, coffee and home made biscuits. This hotel has beautiful rooms to relax in and the outdoor surrounding grounds are a delight to stroll in.
We had reserved a table for dinner and the food served was excellent. I cannot praise the food enough and we loved having fresh vegetables from the hotel garden.
The staff gave us a complimentary glass of bubbly as they knew we were celebrating our anniversary...this was such a lovely touch.
For breakfast we enjoyed fresh mackerel and home made breads.
This hotel went over and above all of our expectations. It is such a comfortable and relaxing place to stay with first class food and service.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank vingt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eirene S, Manager at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for spending such a special occasion with us and or then taking the time to share your comments. We are truly delighted you enjoyed your stay and so very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews