We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$113
PricelineUS$113
Hotels.comUS$113
TravelocityUS$113
TripadvisorUS$113
HurbUS$128
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,842)
Filter reviews
2,842 results
Traveller rating
1,413
700
358
196
175
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,413
700
358
196
175
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa experience mrs claus family deal leisure centre swimming pool two double beds family room family break bar food bar staff changing rooms enjoyable stay staff were very friendly first class lovely hotel great value for money food was lovely
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 2,842 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2022

We had the great misfortune of choosing to book this hotel for a 2 night stay under the Groupon scheme.
My girlfriend booked a 2 night stay in January only to realise that her Mum who she was surprising couldn't make the dates. Within 30 minutes of making the booking called the hotel to amend the booking to the following week and was told this was OK and sorted. Roll forward the date of the original booking and an e-mail was received stating that we look forward to welcoming you tonight - this is where it gets terrible!

We called the hotel thinking it was just a simple mix up but they simply washed their hands of it stating that any reschedule would need to be completed through Groupon and denying all knowledge that they amended the original booking.

I contacted Groupon who clearly stated that the reschedule would need to be with the hotel - the hotel refused to listen to this and refused to accept any blame for the matter.

Shannon the Reservation Manager was completely inflexible, offered no help to try and assist and the attitude appeared to be "tough", take it up with Groupon, all this despite their hotel telling us the booking was changed when we called at the outset.

I have never been in a situation where the attitude of customer facing staff has been so poor and have never been so poorly treated as a paying customer at any hotel I have stayed in - even budget low fee hotels offer better customer service than this. There was just no willingness whatsoever to find a solution.

AVOID at all costs if this is how they treat their customers - will never set foot in the place!

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Service
1  Thank S398OFalanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon McCafferty, Revenue Management at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2022

Hi Alan,

Unfortunately as explained when you book through a third party all amendments must go through the same third party that you booked through. This is also in the terms and conditions that you agreed to before making the booking. Even though we were unable to make this change directly I am glad I was able to help you get this fixed with Groupon in the end up. Many thanks and take care.

Kind Regards,
Shannon McCafferty
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2022 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms with Meave for Saturday and Sunday night. When we arrived we were met by a friendly receptionist and check in was quick. Rooms were very clean and spacious. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner on both days and all the feeds were excellent and we could not fault anything. Lovely large spacious bar and lobby areas. Hotel was very clean throughout. Plenty of hand sanitizers.
Only thing when we are staying again we would look for room at the back, it was slightly noisy along the main road
Will definitely go back again

Room tip: Maybe a room at back, i would be a light sleeper and i felt room at front along main road was a bit noisy
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ashmonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon McCafferty, Revenue Management at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Hi ashmonman,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Mount Errigal Hotel after your recent stay.

Your kind compliments about your experience of the hotel in particular our staff, room cleanliness and food are genuinely appreciated by all of us. I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mount Errigal Hotel. Please contact me directly and I will be able to offer a favourable rate and ensure you are facing away from the road. Many thanks and take care!

Kind Regards
Shannon McCafferty
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2022 via mobile

We pulled in here at the end of November 2021 for a three night stay. We had been in the awful Holyrood hotel Bundoran for a few nights and we couldn’t wait to get away.

It’s our third or fourth stay here in the last few years; we use it as a base to travel around Donegal and Derry and the hotel remains wonderful. We arrived on a Sunday, in time for the buffet lunch, and we enjoyed the lunch.

Our room was cosy, warm and we slept well. Breakfast is fine - I wanted a particular food order that I was told they didn’t normally do but the chef was very obliging and he cheerfully met my requirements; in fact he went out of his way to do so each morning.

We dined every night in their pub and had their steak, french fried onions & chips deal each night as it was just so darn good and they had Colman’s English mustard - best in the world. A pint of Guinness was €5.

The staff were a friendly bunch.

This was the first occasion we went to their spa - if memory serves it was closed last time we stayed - and it was just glorious.

We really could have stayed another week - hopefully it won’t be long before we return again.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Newryoneisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon McCafferty, Revenue Management at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Hi Newryoneisback,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Mount Errigal Hotel after your recent stay.

Your kind compliments about your experience of the hotel in particular our leisure centre, staff and food are genuinely appreciated by all of us. I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mount Errigal Hotel. Please contact me directly and I will be able to offer a favourable rate. Many thanks and take care!

Kind Regards
Shannon McCafferty
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2021 via mobile

We stayed for your santa experience & from check in, dinner, the amazing Mrs Claus, santa visit, breakfast, leisure centre to check out everything was perfect & we cant wait to book again next year! Our night away was made so special & magical thank you for helping us make memories !

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sandradV4782QD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon McCafferty, Revenue Management at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2022

Hi sandradV4782QD,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Mount Errigal Hotel after your recent stay.

Your kind compliments about the Santa experience, food and facilities are genuinely appreciated by all of us and we would like to thank you again sincerely for taking the time to share your visit.

I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mount Errigal Hotel. Many thanks, stay safe and take care.

Kind Regards
Shannon McCafferty
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2021

I had a great time staying at Mount Errigal every week for 3 months. The staff were very welcoming, the food always delicious. I was offered a discounted rate as a student at LYIT, which is a short walk from the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank S9464XXdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon McCafferty, Revenue Management at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2021

Hi S9464XXdiane,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Mount Errigal Hotel after your recent stay.

Your kind compliments about your experience at the hotel including the staff, food and convenient location are genuinely appreciated by all of us and we would like to thank you again sincerely for taking the time to share your visit.

We do appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future! Many thanks and take care.

Kind Regards
Shannon McCafferty
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews