We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$102
View deal
Expedia.com
US$103
View deal
Trip.com
US$98
View deal
PricelineUS$111
Hotels.comUS$103
Agoda.comUS$112
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,924)
Filter reviews
1,924 results
Traveller rating
1,003
518
229
103
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,003
518
229
103
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mcgettigans bar grand staircase mc gettigans porridge executive room lovely hotel swimming pool monday night leisure centre bar staff steak steam room live music hotel bar both nights great atmosphere short break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
615 - 620 of 1,924 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2019 via mobile

Friends of ours had booked 15 of their family to stay New Years Eve and New Year’s Day, we booked last minute. R room was superb it had 2 king size beds, and a small lounge area, the kids had a small room with 2 single beds just off the lounge. The breakfast was beautiful a very good selection lots of variety. On New Years Day we ate in McGettigans absolutely beautiful. Very slow service but worth the wait. We had a fabulous time. Highly recommend and would definitely consider going for an overnight family stay for New Years Eve

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank shara2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2019

Dear shara2209,
Thank you so much for your amazing review following your stay over the new year. The entire team are thrilled to read your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you all back in 2019.
Many thanks again &
Sincerest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

Visited the clanree this week and was a little let down if honest. Highlight was the food in the bar which was lovely both nights. The young bartenders were also worth mentioning as they were extremely pleasant and very good at their job. Waitress serving us the first night messed up our order and the second night did not let us know the specials or that they were running a promotion on cocktails. There is no residents bar and if you want to charge drinks to your room you have to top up your account prior at reception. I think in this day and age both are extremely backwards. Dirty water flowing in taps in room and had to be moved the second night as loud thumping noise like a pump could be heard in walls. You can always hear noise in the corridors as rooms are poorly sound proofed. Overall would not be returning in a hurry. Hotel is lacking the basics discussed above.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stephencY463JN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2019

Dear Stephen C,
Thank you sincerely for choosing to stay with us recently and for your valuable feedback. We would like to thank you for your kind comment on our food and the nice mention on our bar tenders. As with most hotels it is hotel policy on check in if you intend to charge incidentals to their rooms we do require a swipe of a valid credit card.
Unfortunately the water is owned by Irish Water who supply the mains to all of Letterkenny were carrying our necessary works to the mains water supply in the town.
I do apologise for the inconvenience of being moved due to noise we have since investigated. we would love the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion where I would hope you would fully enjoy your entire experience with us. If we can ever assist please do not hesitate to contact us.
Many thanks again &
Kindest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

We booked the Clanree for over the new year as a base to see some parts of Donegal and as it is a 4 star hotel we could use the leisure facilities and enjoy some nice food. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bar Mc Gettigans was lovely for food and we ate in the bar both nights. Nice and comfortable too up in the Library area. The downside and the reason why I rated it 3 was due to the noise level at night. Both nights we got no sleep due to shouting and fighting which went on from 3 right through to 7. The night porters did what they could fair play to them. I ended up going and having a word myself which made no difference. Children completely unsupervised running around the hotel and in the bedrooms corridors till the small hrs too. I wouldn’t rate the hotel as 4 star and unfortunately puts me off staying there again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank P5435LVmichellea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Dear P5435LVmichellea,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us over the festive season,It was very pleasing to read your feedback on our facilities and our food it is very much appreciated.
Unfortunately I can only apologise sincerely for any disturbance you experienced and as it was over the new year festivities guests were in high spirits celebrating the new year and families were with us to celebrate also as you can imagine we monitor and make sure everyone is enjoying themselves but we cannot control other guests actions who have little consideration for in-house guests. We have security and our night manager who is always at hand to assist with any noise disturbance.
I do hope you give us the opportunity to redeem your faith in the Clanree Hotel on another occasion where I hope you have a relaxing and enjoyable experience.
Many thanks gain for your feedback &
Warmest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

At a wedding in this hotel recently. Everything was excellent. Room was beautiful and the breakfast the next day was fantastic. Great hotel and we will defitintly be back. Highly recommended. Only recommendation would be to keep the heat in later at night

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2019

Dear Natasha M,
Thank you so much for your amazing feedback following your visit to one of our fabulous weddings held here in our Shellbridge Suite, We are truly delighted that you fully enjoyed the day, we are indeed very passionate about all our beautiful weddings held here in The Clanree Hotel and it is so pleasing to read your lovely compliments.
We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion really soon.
Many thanks again and wishing you and yours a very Happy New Year.
Warmest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
Operations Manager,
Clanree Hotel.
00 353 74 9124369.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2018

This is the second time we have stayed here and the standards have not dropped any thing. Easily found on main Letterkenny/ Lifford Strabane road this large hotel ticks all the boxes. The rooms are clean,warm and well serviced. The food is great , especially the breakfasts and the staff are helpful and friendly and you are well looked after. .With competitive rates, an ideal p,ace to stay.

Room tip: Rooms not facing main road are quieter
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brazilbrian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2019

Dear brazilbrian01,
Thank you for your fantastic review following your very recent visit with us here in The Clanree Hotel conference & Leisure Centre. Our entire team really appreciates your kind remarks in relation to our level of standards as we work hard to deliver a good service to all our very valuable guests so it is indeed pleasing to read your review and we are so grateful for your feedback.
Hoping we have the pleasure of extending a welcome to you on another occasion in 2019.
Many thanks again and wishing you a very Happy New YEar.
Warmest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews