We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffeeeee!”
Review of Coffee Time

Coffee Time
Ranked #5 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Letterkenny
Price range: US$2 - US$12
Description: Coffee time is a café, one of three thatched cottages, in Kilmacrenan village. These cottages have been here for nearly two hundred years! Mary-Rose & Branden Kern are the owners and are passionate about Irish food and its history. They source local products for the breakfast and lunch menus such as eggs and vegetables from Ballyholey Farm. They bake all their own bread such as wheaten bread, sourdough, rye. Davenport Family Roasters supply them with fantastic coffee, roasted with love in Co. Sligo. The old open fire is still in use inside the café, with the crane over it and the hanging pots and pans. People love the smell of the turf or peat coming from the fire. Branden can be seen making traditional wheaten bread or perhaps a pot of soup over the fire!
Restaurant details
Description: Coffee time is a café, one of three thatched cottages, in Kilmacrenan village. These cottages have been here for nearly two hundred years! Mary-Rose & Branden Kern are the owners and are passionate about Irish food and its history. They source local products for the breakfast and lunch menus such as eggs and vegetables from Ballyholey Farm. They bake all their own bread such as wheaten bread, sourdough, rye. Davenport Family Roasters supply them with fantastic coffee, roasted with love in Co. Sligo. The old open fire is still in use inside the café, with the crane over it and the hanging pots and pans. People love the smell of the turf or peat coming from the fire. Branden can be seen making traditional wheaten bread or perhaps a pot of soup over the fire!
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Definitely the best coffee you can get around the area. Not to mention the open fire, design and the nicest staff.

Thank gallaghjenn455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-Rose K, Owner at Coffee Time, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I bumped into this little coffee shop while touring around Donegal. We walked in only to sip some coffee, but once we saw the menu we couldn’t resist staying for lunch as well. Food is great, prepared with love and care, and atmosphere is cozy.

Thank Antonio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-Rose K, Owner at Coffee Time, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review Antonio! We are delighted you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

The food is amazing; the atmosphere is great! I highly recommend this place! We were on our way to Glenveagh castel and we had to stop and we are really happy we did! You should too!

Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-Rose K, Owner at Coffee Time, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you so much! Glad you stopped by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We had reached that point of our journey from Co Antrim when we knew we must stop for a break. We were delighted to find this on the route from Kilmacrenan. The food was great and the coffee was excellent, just what was required. We'll be back next time passing!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brynboru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-Rose K, Owner at Coffee Time, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! Glad you enjoyed and looking forward to seeing you again. All the best Mary-Rose & Branden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

The place is fantastic, very cozy and the staff extremely friendly. The coffee is served in enamel cups and is one of the best I had in Ireland.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DanjaJena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-Rose K, Owner at Coffee Time, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review! So glad you enjoyed your visit. All the best, Mary-Rose & Branden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee Time also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Coffee Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing