We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only they were all this good...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drumcreehy Country House
Ranked #1 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If only they were all this good...”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Drumcreehy House near Ballyvaughan is in the heart of The Burren in County Clare, surely one of the most rugged, beautiful and strange landscapes in the whole of Ireland.

The house is immaculately presented and meticulously maintained by Armin and Bernadette, the owners. Breakfast is served in a beautifully decorated dining room and consists of a perfect blend of continental (cold meats, cheeses, compote, etc) and traditional Irish. Irresistible.

The "honesty bar" allows you to serve yourself and enjoy a wide variety of reasonably priced drinks in the peace and tranquility of yet another wonderfully decorated room and have it added to your bill. On top of that, you can make yourself a cup of "proper" tea, from Darjeeling to Rooibosch to herbal. And proper coffee. The hosts are welcoming and attentive without being intrusive. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with splendid views over Galway Bay or the Burren mountains.

You can hire a bike in the village at very reasonable rates to explore the back roads at a leisurely pace. Opportunities for hill walking abound.There are restaurants and bars, and a great traditional music scene. You are in easy reach of the fabulous Ailwee Cave (and there is a discount!)

In almost four years of living in Ireland, travelling extensively from Baltimore in Cork to Malin Head in Donegal, this has to be one one the best B&Bs we've ever found!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    56
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
157
351
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Lovely home - great views and wonderful hosts. We had a greaty stay , and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

What a lovely house. Very comfortable sitting room with a honor bar which was lovely in the evening. Our room was large and very comfortable. We had the most wonderful view out our window, cows in the field and the ocean just beyond. Our host gave very helpful suggestion for a very good restaurants and evening music at a local bar. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection at the buffet and made to order eggs. I would defiantly stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCJustMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Drumcreehy House was one of the best guest houses we stayed in during our recent trip of Ireland.Bernadette made us a very welcome. We stayed in the yellow cottage which had all we required and was very clean and comfortable.
The buffet breakfast was amazing where Bernadette and Armin provided a very wide range of food that would satisfy anyone. Make sure you try their homemade lemon curd and blackcurrant jam.
The worst thing about our stay was that it was only for 1 night!
ShaneL

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Drumcreehy House is a large, beautiful renovated guest house, which is more like a boutique hotel, and that overlooks Ballyvaughan Bay. Lovely spacious rooms, with a good ensuite including larger than usual shower and extras like hair dryers. Rooms are immaculate, serviced daily. There is a guest loungeroom with 24 hr free tea and coffee and you can also purchase alcohol, soft drinks and snacks on an honesty system. The star though is the amazing buffet breakfast with choice of cereals and muesli, many different fruits and nuts, yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses, bread, buns and pastries and THEN you are offered a pick from the hot breakfast menu: Scrambled eggs and proscuito, or salmon, french toast, pancakes, mushrooms, Irish breakfast, etc, etc, and, of course, tea or coffee. You could book just for the breakfast, but the rooms won't disappoint either. It is not an interactive b&b, but all the staff I met were friendly and polite. I would certainly stay here again if I were in this part of the world.

Room Tip: There are views to all rooms in this property...the sea to the front rooms and the surrounding count...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarelhdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
6.7 km away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
450 reviews
2.0 km away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
255 reviews
14.2 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#2 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
455 reviews
1.8 km away
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ballyvaughan Lodge
#4 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
219 reviews
6.8 km away
The Waters Country House
The Waters Country House
#5 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumcreehy Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumcreehy Country House

Property: Drumcreehy Country House
Address: Bishops Quarter, Ballyvaughan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumcreehy Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ballyvaughan, Drumcreehy House is a delightful country style home, boasting superb views of Galway bay and the surrounding Burren Landscape.Open fires, antique furnishings and a friendly and personal service by your conscientious hosts Bernadette and Armin, serve to make your stay both enjoyable and memorable.Ten ensuite bedrooms, decorated with old world charm, yet equipped with all modern conveniences (Telephone, TV, WiFi). Some enjoy magnificent sea views while others overlook the splendour of the Burren hinterland.Allow us to spoil you with our extensive continental buffet and a choice of delicious cooked breakfasts in a relaxed and homely atmosphere.Relax by the open fire and enjoy complimentary tea or coffee with cakes or help yourself to wine in our cosy honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Drumcreehy Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumcreehy Guest House Hotel Ballyvaughan
Drumcreehy Country House Ballyvaughan, The Burren, County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing