We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Book In Advance

Start Date
End Date
  
Ways to Experience Aillwee Cave
from US$74.81
More Info
from US$40.28
More Info
from US$74.81
More Info
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveller rating
456
399
228
82
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
399
228
82
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birds of prey tour guide gift shop stalactites and stalagmites total darkness fudge bird show minute tour cheese shop great family day face painting rainy day father ted burren area santa visit well worth the visit hawk walk
Filter
Updating list...
762 - 767 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you saw any caves across the Europe you probably wouldn't be impressed but it's still worth to see. The Trip is safely short for young children - that's why I said it is good for start. But if you are a claustrophobic better stay away...

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Adriana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We choose only to do the cave and not the animals and birds. It was a rainy day. We had just come from the Doolin cave. This was a very different experience. The guide told us the history but there was not much too it. There was not much value on this tour. I believe there was great value to the Doolin cave.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank Dorth38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We visited in early June. We chose the caves and the birds of prey. €50 for the family ticket. 2 adults and three small kids. Arrived just in time for a guided cave tour. Cave tour was good but I've been a few times before so perhaps it lacked the excitement you get on your first time. The kids enjoyed it. Next we went to the birds of prey flying exhibition which was in truth even
better. We all thoroughly enjoyed this. The two guys who were flying the birds were absolutely fantastic. A vulture at close quarters is a
sight to behold!! Afterwards the two guys hung around and mingled with the crowd answering questions and generally being friendly and adding hugely to the overall experience. I couldn't fault it. Every single staff member we encountered, from the tour guides to the girls in the gift shop were genuinely lovely and helpful people.

2  Thank Risteard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Got to see an interactive display of birds of prey. Very enlighting, and treated to the opportunity of holding an eagle in a gloves hand. Then received a guided tour of a cane that only came to public attention in 1976. Personal highlight was when the guide turned out the lights to show how dark it is underground. Well worth a visit :)

Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Having never been to any type of cave we visited here with 2 children aged 15 and 11 and all thoroughly enjoyed it. Tour groups are taken in the tunnel in groups of about 15 and the story of how they were discovered is told along with the history of the caves As well as about the stalactites and stalagmites. The tour guide was informative but made the talk interesting without that 'over the type tourist talk' you so often find. What an experience when she turns the torch light out and suddenly we are all in pitch darkness for a few seconds. Something not to be missed and an experience we will never forget,

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews