We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aillwee Cave visit.”
Review of Aillwee Cave

Aillwee Cave
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A striking collection of prehistoric underground caves.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We enjoyed our trip to the caves and it was good value combining the birds of prey with Aillwee cave visit. We had a very good guide and very informative. My only negative comment was that I felt the lightening on the paths could have been better lit and I would have put up a warning that it might be unsuitable for older people with mobility issues or where people were carrying children as head height restrictive at times.

Date of experience: April 2014
3  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"birds of prey"
in 256 reviews
"tour guide"
in 90 reviews
"gift shop"
in 64 reviews
"stalactites and stalagmites"
in 28 reviews
"total darkness"
in 18 reviews
"fudge"
in 40 reviews
"bird show"
in 47 reviews
"minute tour"
in 21 reviews
"cheese shop"
in 19 reviews
"great family day"
in 11 reviews
"face painting"
in 11 reviews
"rainy day"
in 23 reviews
"father ted"
in 11 reviews
"burren area"
in 12 reviews
"santa visit"
in 11 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 14 reviews
"county clare"
in 12 reviews
Filter

763 - 767 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

The informative Birds of Prey display where James invited people to interact with the birds was wonderful. We also did the Hawk Walk with Jamie and flew Sinead a 3yr old Harrier Hawk from our gloved hand. An amazing experience!! The cave was interesting but a group of rude sightseers made it difficult to hear the guide.

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank Jill_445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is my option tour of my cliff of moher/burren with bus tour,it was interesting and we enjoy it!

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank Angel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Paid €18 for the cave and bird tours / exhibitions which was far too expensive in my opinion, plus the woman at the gate only tells you the prices of the tours making us feel like we had to pay to get in, she never mentioned that we were welcome to walk around and have some lunch which we would of done instead. One of the birds flew off mid-show which obviously was not planned but still we were left sitting there for 15/20 mins and he still hadn't returned. We headed off to do the cave tour - ridiculously over priced, the guide spoke quite low and when showing the detail and formation of the caves, we were down the end of the Que and couldn't hear or see anything. I won't be returning.

Date of experience: April 2014
2  Thank Niamhoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The facilities before entering the cave were nice, good food (had lunch before we entered the cave). I hear during Christmas they have Santa in the cave for kids to meet and there just might be a present for their bravery.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Blueduck3285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aillwee Cave also viewed

Doolin, The Burren
Liscannor, County Clare
 

Been to Aillwee Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing