We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$157
View deal
Hotels.com
Vio.com
US$128
View deal
Expedia.comUS$158
PricelineUS$157
TravelocityUS$158
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
144
112
62
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
144
112
62
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor the pub good size lovely hotel no lift lamb nice stay full irish burren denise ireland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2022

We had dinner in this hotel last night. €23.50 for one very small piece of seabass 4 strips of asparagus and 6 slices of a potatoe. Fish and vegetables were cold and it was served on a cold plate! My complaint/return very professionally handled by our pleasant waitress. She apologised profusely. Perhaps it’s the Chef who should be apologising

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 August 2022

Great location in the city center, with friendly staff. Rooms were spacious. We stayed on the top floor in one of the larger rooms. We chose the two weeks a year when the weather goes above 75 degrees and of course there is no AC. We had the windows open and fans going and when we finally made it to the room at the end of the day, the temperature was very comfortable- so no complaints. But just beware if you travel in August- and it gets any hotter- the rooms could get 'uncomfortable'. Our teens stayed in a bottom floor room and the contrast in rooms was pretty apparent- smelled moldy and room was dark. They didn't mind of course, but compared to our room-for the same price- it was not ideal. Breakfast was ok- nothing to write home about, but nice to have it included in our rate. The pub downstairs is cute and we enjoyed a couple of drinks- with friendly staff. We would stay again.

Room tip: Stay on a higher floor- better light, smell, and air circulation- especially in the summertime.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busytown1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 August 2022 via mobile

Lovely hotel with comfortable bedrooms. Breakfast was very tasty and great selection of fruit and cereal as well as most enjoyable full Irish! Staff were wonderful....could not do enough. Will be back!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JeremyPFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 August 2022 via mobile

Found this hotel while walking with my wife and two small kids, and was happy they had room to seat us for lunch. Staff were friendly and the place was clean but that’s the only positives I can mention. A toasted sandwich cost €10.50 and a very (very) small portion of chips cost €4.50. We got two small balls of goats cheese on a bed of old lettuce for €14.50 each. I’d describe our ‘meal’ as poor garage food, with everything (including four soft drinks) coming to an extortionate €80. This would have been okay if the food was worth it, but I was shocked at the price and quality, and being Irish, I was disappointed that this was being offered to unsuspecting tourists.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Explore60253048324
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 July 2022

We stayed at the Hyland Burren Hotel 2 nights and may I say it was more than enough. This hotel is not a luxury hotel as some other guests have imply, it is rather a modest hotel unfortunately charging the price of a 4 stars hotel in any city in Ireland. Our room was overlooking the car park (nothing wrong with that) just beside the kitchen where you could hear very loudly the fan extractor running practically all day and quite late at night. We requested another room and were giving another one on the ground floor, quite dark room but although we could still hear the extractor fan, the noise was more subtle. 150 Euros per night is a bit excessive especially when the room is beside the kitchen.

Bedrooms furniture is cheap, only one ceiling light in the bathroom and the light above the wash hand basin was flicking. Even the communal parts of the hotel (2 separate rooms side by side with sofas) are lacking in cosiness.

As for breakfast, it was nearly inedible: bacon was cremated, white pudding tasteless, poached egg not runny, not toast was on offer. Pity because the (homemade?) marmalade was good. We were supposed to have dinner but at the view of the poor breakfast we decided to cancel. If the chef is doing such a bad job on a piece of bacon, one wonder what he will do to a fish!

Apparently, the owner is not around that much. I think he should, he needs to get around his hotel a bit more and make sure things are running smoothly and his guests are well catered for.

Overall, a bad experience. Ballyvaughan is a nice, quiet, pretty seaside resort. We may come back but definitively will not stay at Hyland Burren hotel, unless the owner gets his act together and stop charging excessive price!

Room tip: Avoid room 31 and 38. They are both located beside the kitchen in the back where the extractor fan is running all day and late at night.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerNo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews