We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent service and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanlin House B+B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanlin House B+B
Ranked #7 of 11 Oranmore B&B and Inns
Barcelona
1 review
“Excellent service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Shanlin House B+B is large, modern and comfortable (en suite). It is conveniently located for visits to Galway and to the Burren. The Grady family is very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is relaxed. Oranmare is a pleasant town in itself. We think it is great value for money and have stayed there regularly over the years. We give it our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    13
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bages, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

visiting Ireland for one week with 8 French friends, we had a break in this very nice B&B ; it's very practical if you arrive from Dublin to night and if you want to visit the Conemarra the next day for example. So, we stayed 2 nights there then, we gone away to continue our trip more in the south. The house is very clean and charming , the owners very nice and there is a free parking for your car.
furthermore, the city of Galway is very closed (about 8 km) but you can also take advantages of the small town of ORANMORE with its very typical pubs and restaurants !
It's évident ! it's a very good adress !

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CATHERINEB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I stayed here in July 2011 and had a wonderfully,relaxing time.
The location is perfect for walks down to the bay and easy access to Galway city itself.
As for the breakfast it was unreal!
I will stay here again for sure and enjoy the great hospitality of the house once more.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Days10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

My girlfriend and I finished a little tour of Ireland with a 3 day stay in Galway and stayed with Seamus and Geraldine at Shanlin House based on the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor. We could not have been happier with the accommodation, location or the hospitality! Ger was more than happy to drop us off for dinner in the village (Oranmore) and offered excellent recommendations for day trips and sight seeing. If you want to be in a quiet restful area with easy access to the city this is a spot we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank folanstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardennes France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We are French and we knew the Shanlin House on the web.
During our journey in Ireland we spent a pleasant stay in a family frame at Seamus and Géraldine.
Shanlin house B*B to Oranmore (village in the Irish charm) is situated not far from Galway.
Ideally situated for the irish western discovery (Connemara in the North, Cliffs of Moher in the South...)
Seamus and Géraldine welcomed us warmly.
To them, smile and sympathy are every day there. That is why we stayed all our stay there.
They were also good advice for the discovery of a maximum of magnificent sites.
The comfortable room and the conveniences are perfected and the delicious Irish breakfast is ideal for the good start of the day.
During our next stay we shall return without hesitation to them.
We think of taking it our 2 daughters.
With the pleasure to see them again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filetfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.8 km away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.9 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.7 km away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
10.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
8.2 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanlin House B+B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanlin House B+B

Property: Shanlin House B+B
Address: Shanlin House Maree Road, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanlin House Bed & Breakfast, is the ideal location for the visitor to stay, relax and "watch the sun go down on Galway Bay." It provides a central location from which to tour the major attractions of the West of Ireland, a variety of local attractions and activities and the village of Oranmore within a few minutes walk for a selection of restaurants, pubs and music. A residence for comfort and relaxation. Check our prices and make a reservation by post or online. From the first glance at the outside of Shanlin House, the guest knows from seeing the well-tended gardens, the colourful window boxes and imposing facade of the house that this is no ordinary guest accommodation. Shanlin House is the ideal base for the tourist wishing to visit the major attractions of the West of Ireland. Local attractions include Galway Bay Golf and Country Club and Clarinbridge village, the home of the Oyster Festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shanlin House B+B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanlin House B+B Oranmore, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing