We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, cosy, warm and haunted cottage :)”
Review of Teach Ceann Tui

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Teach Ceann Tui
Ranked #3 of 9 Ardara B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 October 2016

About 100000 years old cottage with lovely smell of tchatched/ wooden roof, fantastic living room with the fireplace and large, comfy bedroom. Second bedroom is quite small but for two kids fits perfect.Paul and Samantha are lovely people , it was a pleasure to met them and spent some time in this great place. And the ghost, yes, there is one. Not sure if it's friendly Casper type of ghost but we survived the night ;) We'll be back, thank you!

Room Tip: This cottage is haunted :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank miniodublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2016

A brilliantly appointed beautiful old cottage. So much thought is put in to your stay; a gift of hand made soap, hot water bottles, reading material, games, candles etc. I am dairy intolerant so instead of the usual home made welcome biscuits Paul sourced a delicious organic dairy free alternative. The cottage's sitting room is so cosy we stayed in and had a picnic there one evening. A lovely local breakfast is served in the families wonderful kitchen with amazing picture windows looking out to hills. Paul is happy to share his local knowledge to ensure you get the very most from your stay. Highly recommend the cottage which certainly isn't run of the mill.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This cozy little home is something straight out of a storybook. We would highly recommend it to anyone. It was a particularly magical spot for our family with young children, with lots of room to spread out and Paul and Samantha's delightful children to play with. The location is beautiful, with picturesque white sand beaches a short drive away. Paul and his family are the most gracious of hosts, and the breakfast they serve would warm any rainy morning. The amenities are completely modern and comfortable, but you do get the feeling that you are stepping back in time to somewhere special.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Teach Ceann Tui is our ideal B&B - your own private cottage but with the luxury of a lovely cooked breakfast. The cottage is really cosy and yes you can smell the turf which made it all the more authentic but it also had all modern comforts with lots of attention to detail. The cottage is located in a stunning area with lots of fabulous beaches, caves, scenic drives, walks, great fishing (so my husband tells me anyway).. Would really recommed the trip to Doon Fort and Maghera Beach & Caves - great sand dunes there aswell. Paul & his family were really friendly and welcoming - it was a very relaxing stay. Hope to visit again..

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank Sinead L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Excellently maintained traditional thatched cottage that we stayed in for a few days. It was a perfect start to our 2 week Irish vacation. We enjoyed the town of Ardara and the surrounds more than Donegal Town. The breakfast made every morning was made from local sourced, artisan quality products. It was great for starting the day before getting out to see the sites of Donegal County. Great hosts. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dunnet001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ardara hotels
2.5 km away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
319 reviews
5.3 km away
Gort Na Mona B & B
Gort Na Mona B & B
#2 of 9 in Ardara
138 reviews
2.6 km away
Brae House
Brae House
#8 of 9 in Ardara
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Woodhill House
Woodhill House
#5 of 9 in Ardara
177 reviews
2.8 km away
Auntie B's Bed And Breakfast
2.5 km away
Drumbarron House
Drumbarron House
#6 of 9 in Ardara
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teach Ceann Tui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teach Ceann Tui

Address: Shanaghan, Ardara, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ardara
Price Range: €39 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive bed and breakfast in a thatched cottage in County Donegal, Ireland. Beaches, horse riding, surfing, fishing, hill walking, golf, river & sea fishing all nearby. Large garden and own private sitting room. Kids stay free! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teach Ceann Tui Ardara, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing