We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
4
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
2
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We booked Neil's Cottage and Looking Glass apt through internet and from first contact with Kathleen we knew that all would be well. Both accommodations were excellent; spotlessly clean, so well equipped that we did not lack anything. Both are close enough to each other, conveniently placed to beach and pier, and beautiful Rathmullan itself.
The welcome, with home scones and banana bread, was wonderful.
We cannot wait to go back next year and have booked already!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank maryferris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Kathleen was so helpful and reacted immediately to any requests we made and the cottage was spotless.

However for six adults, sitting together in the lounge was a bit of a squash. There is comfortable seating for four round the TV and two other chairs in the porch. A swinging chair on the verandah is lovely for warm evenings.

TV reception was poor.

Apparently the upstairs front bedroom bed was squeeky but we told Kathleen about this and Im sure she will sort that out. We were in the downstairs ensuite and it was quiet and comfortable.

Every evening we would walk down into the town of Rathmullan which took about ten minutes. Sometimes just to look at the beautiful Lough Swilly.

We used the Rathmullan ferry to go to Buncrana and then to Londonderry for the day. But the best day trip was the trip round Horn Head, Ards Forest and the village of Dunfannahey. The scenery in the whole area is wonderful with just lovely long white sandy beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forgedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Please do not make the same mistake as us and stay in the looking glass apartment. We are writing this having left a day early. We were told we had to pay the money in cash up front and were refused a receipt. The noise from the tenants in the apartment above was so bad we didn't get one nights sleep. The owner was totally unhelpful. The website says there is a dishwasher. There is not. It says there is a cot and highchair available. There was not. The D.V.D. was broken. We have learnt our lesson and will never pay up front in cash again. The only thing we can do is advise others not to stay there and have the same stress and bad experience we did.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrsdDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We rented Neil's Cottage for two nights, myself and my husband. Enjoyed every minute of it. Beautiful views and so peaceful. Not very far from main town. Dealt with owner Kathleen and she was so pleasant and helpful. Cottage was very clean and cosy. Throughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BONNY34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

There were 7 of us staying in Neil's Cottage including 2 babies and our elderly grandmother. The house was beautiful and suited us all perfectly. Kathleen was the most helpful and welcoming person you could ever meet. She made our stay so enjoyable and was at hand when we needed her. The location of neil's cottage is quiet and pieceful and the area surrounding it is absolutely beautiful. We would definetely stay again and would reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JusieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews