We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
244
139
58
40
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
139
58
40
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure centre old style olde world food was lovely open fire both nights modern hotel wedding reception great weekend would highly recommend this hotel function room second to none bit dated bar menu sunday lunch couldn't do enough staff were lovely
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018

We Had A Marvelous 50th Wedding Anniversary Party At This Hotel ( As A Guest )
Room Decorated To Perfection, Great Lunch, Our Waiter Tommy, Was Excellent,Nothing Was Too Much Trouble,He Was So Good Humored, Great Service (With A Smile !)
Highly Recommend This Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank anna maria o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We had our wedding at Kilcoran Lodge and we have had food there on several occasions before.
The food is always amazing and there is plenty of it, so you really get a lot for what you pay!
The wedding planning was incredibly easy with the staff and Tommy bent over backwards to make sure it was a beautiful evening. Lots of people told us it was one of the best weddings they've been to, so that speaks for itself. Food is amazing, service is amazing and all the rooms that we saw are beautiful and really big!
The location is very scenic, and the view is gorgeous.
It's fairly easy to get there once you're off the motorway as well.
All in all, everytime we went to Kikcoran it was a great experience and we can highly recommend it!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank wunderlichsvenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We googled this hotel and it was the most expensive that we had paid this holiday, so our expectations were high. When we arrived people were eating their evening meal on a table in the hallway. We checked in and it didn’t look good for my requested gluten free evening meal and breakfast. We went to our room which was nothing special. We showered then went down to the bar for an evening meal. There was nowhere for us to sit down, so the manager showed us to a table in the hallway. This was not the same table where we saw people eating on the way in as it had not been cleared. I kept popping in and out of the bar while we looked at the menu to see if there was an empty table. We managed to get one but the table was not cleared. The manager came to our table and said you’ve finished, and cleared the table? Eventually the lady working behind the bar took our order. The menu said the soup of the day is gluten free , she checked with the chef who was not sure as he had not made it? We ordered the tortilla wraps with salad and chips. To be told the wraps were not gluten free. This was not a problem for me but my wife had to ask for her wraps, which ended up being 1x wrap. The food was delicious. The poor lady working behind the bar was also the waitress. The tables had empty plates on them for ages. Every 15 minutes the manager would turn up and clear them.
Breakfast was a joke. Two young girls who did not understand my gluten intolerance problem ( not their fault) No gluten free cereal, no mixed fruit as a substitute. We got talking to 6 x Americans who went to the bar to eat the previous evening but they went into town to eat, due to the state of the tables and the response they got when they went to clear the tables. A possible loss of €200?
Everywhere else we stayed in Ireland catered for my gluten intolerance. The first hotel we stayed in, in Athlone cost €40 less and was far superior. The breakfast was to die for and catered for my needs with no problem.
This hotel is overpriced for what you get,the bedrooms are nothing special and they are understaffed in the evening.
I would not recommend this hotel but the one in Athlone beats this one hands down and better value for money.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charliestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilcoranLodge, Manager at Kilcoran Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

I am dismayed at your comments on the reception area of the hotel as I can not understand how you can call an area of 35 feet by 16 feet a corridor. When you came down to the bar it was an extremely busy period resulting in a lot of guests leaving and settling their accounts at the same time, this did result in a slight delay in clearing some tables, we pride ourselves in the service we provide to all our guests and tables are cleared as soon as possible. Your comments regarding the six guests the previous night is nothing short of amazing as the hotel was not open the previous night as there was a problem with our power and we had no guests in the building at all.
I as m sorry that the information was not relayed to you correctly as all our soups and sauced are Gluten Free but items such as wraps are not , we do however have gluten free bread available at all times. We do not have gluten free cereals as the demand for such items are so small that it is not possible to ensure the freshness of the product once it is required. Our breakfast buffet has fresh fruit as standard and our chef is always prepared to do fresh fruit salad to order if requested , however Sausages and Puddings are not Gluten Free.
The hotel is a mid 19th century building and we have keep the character and uniqueness of the original estate house from rooms to public areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Want to say a huge Thank you to all staff here at the hotel Kieran is a lovely kind manager and will alway be on hand . I Especially want to thank Tommy he made sure that our day was everything we wanted and he made sure it was unique in its own way i will be forever grateful to you for this.
We had a large number off foreign guests staying most off weekend and they all said how amazing they were looked after her at kilcoran and that the atmospher makes a hotel. Christine would put a smile on anyone's face within minutes off meeting her. All the waitresses are beautiful girls inside and out.
Brian the nightporter is such a lovely gentleman and made us a beautiful welcome banner which is a lovely keep safe to remember our day.
The food there is just no word the chefs do an amazing job and you liturally will not be able to put your fork down from the main dinner right up to evening food yum yum.
Leave your day in the arms off kilcoran and i promise you will be a magical day. All the staff work as a great team. That's what makes kilcoran kilcoran
Thank you again all off you
Michael,stasia and baby Savannah xx

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank anastid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Wow we had a spectacular day!!! Thank you to all the staff at the kilcoran for making so rememberable and special. In particular to Tommy who paid such attention to what we wanted on the day..he pulled out all the stops to cater for all our needs including having our ceremony outside in the beautiful garden!! Thanks to Brian who made a great crested welcome sign( we will be framing it) and to Christine who was so good helping will the rooms (and many changes). The food was delicious and plentiful, waiting and bar staff were busy but this didn't appear to be an issue cause all our guests were satisfied and wanted for nothing on the day. The hotel has so much charm, which along with the naturally friendly atmosphere is why we chose this as our venue.

Thanks again

Pamela and Johnny x

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Pamela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilcoranLodge, Manager at Kilcoran Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Many Thanks Pam for your lovely review, it was a very special day and the weather made it... the ceremony in the garden was beautiful. It was an honour to look after you and John , and on behalf of all at The LODGE we wish you both , and the family a great future together. Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews