We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly beyond belief” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hearn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hearn's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Clonmel
Lesmahagow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly beyond belief”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Hearns Hotel was superb. Very friendly, a good bar, and coffee was tasty indeed.

The menagerie knew our names before we told her! She took a real interest in what we were doing, and knew each day what to ask us as regards where we'd been etc. We felt very special indeed, but that is how everyone is treated. It is a really welcoming place.

My only gripe is that the breakfast was overcooked, and the sausages did not seem to be local, fresh produce; rather closer to Asda bargain brand.

All that said - it was a small fault. I suppose it would have been bigger, had the rest if the stay not been superlative, but given everything else, breakfast pales in comparison. It also might have been one off-day, but I didn't chance a repeat, and so went our for breakfast the next day.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanleyAggeridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    15
    16
    27
See reviews for
9
31
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
maidenhead
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We came across Hearn's Hotel quite by chance while touring around Ireland recently. It is an interesting family owned hotel with a fascinating history, well situated in the town centre with it's own car park. Our large room was on the top floor, very clean and very quiet and comfprtable. We were not disturbed by any noise either from the floors below or from the street. There were coffe and tea making facilities in the room. The bathroom was large and clean and there was ample hot water.The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and were happy to recommend local restaurants as their dining room was closed on the evening we were there. Breakfast was served by a very friendly pleasant lady and we enjoyed our stay there very much. I left my Kindle behind and exchanged several emails with Feargal, who could not have been more accommodating or helpful. He returned it to me very promptly. If I find myself in Clonmel again, I would not heaitate to return. It is a modestly priced hotel, full of character, with a friendly staff who go out of their way to ensure that you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sybil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We as a family of 3 couples stayed in this hotel at the end of the summer.We wanted somewhere that was central in the town and that was value for money.When we arrived at reception that man that greated us was very nice and showed us up to our room.Rooms were comfortable and clean however the noise from the late night bar downstairs carried on until the early hours of the morning.The music was so loud and we could not sleep.In the morning we went down for breakfast and the tables and chairs were so cheap and the tables were filthy with other peoples food that were there before us.The lady came to take our order-brought down tea and the cups were dirty and the food was just awful.I have to say that the breakfast was a disaster! we were glad we were not staying an extra night.Expected a little more and was quite disapointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sorcha1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

This is what it says on the tin , a cheap central hotel

It has friendly staff and serves a great breakfast , full Irish with free parking and all for E40 .

Rooms have recently been given a freshen up with new curtains and throwovers

It served my purpose perfectly being on a work related trip and this was generally the clientele , or so it looked at breakfast .

One big crib was the lack of hot water for a shower , to call it tepid would be exaggerating , but again i harp back to the price .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Just back from a one night stay in Hearn's hotel. My partner and I attended a gig at the hotel. To be honest it's not 5 star luxury but it doesn't set out to be. It's a small, well located, friendly hotel, with comfortable and clean rooms, that were recently refurbished apparently.

We met the owner Fergal who gave us some great tips on things to do the following day in the area. All in all a very pleasant stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharryado99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
0.3 km away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 5 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.6 km away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
15.6 km away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
29.6 km away
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Horse & Jockey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thurles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearn's Hotel

Property: Hearn's Hotel
Address: Parnell Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearn's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Clonmel, a town steeped in history, Hearn's Hotel is a family run hotel with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The Hotel comprises of 26 newly renovated bedrooms and the lively Town Hall bar. Whether its looking for a base to visit south Tipperary or enjoy the nightlife of Clonmel, Hearn's hotel is the ideal place to stay.Adjacent to the hotel is O'Keeffe's late bar, a firm favourite in Tipperary with four bars, three DJs, two dance floors, a live music room and a huge beer garden. We hold live Trad music sessions every Wednesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hearn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearns Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing