We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but needed some peace ”

Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Sean Tierney's award-winning Bar and Restaurant in Clonmel, Co. Tipperary, Ireland. Four-times winner of the best Munster pub, and voted fourteen times winner of Tipperary Pub of the Year. We have a wide selection of Irish and international beers, cocktails, wines and spirits, including a number of local Irish craft beers.Tierney's Bar and Restaurant is located at 13 O'Connell Street, Clonmel, Co. Tipperary. Food is served from 12.30 p.m. 'till late, with lunches, evening meals, food-to-go and party menus available. Also, a special lunch menu is available on Sundays.Tierney's is a family owned and operated bar, located in the center of Clonmel, Co. Tipperary. Since 1991 Seán Tierney has been running his bar and restaurant, providing quality food and drink to the people of South Tipperary and North Waterford. Clonmel itself is home to vibrant cultural life, including the annual Clonmel Junction Festival, as well as hosting the premier traditional Irish music festival, the Fleadh Ceoil na hÉireann, five times in the past two decades.Tierney's bar sits on the site of the previous Phelan's pub, and like its predecessor, Tierney's is the haunt of many sportsmen from all over Tipperary. As well as providing a large selection of quality Irish craft beers and locally-produced cuisine, the bar offers a venue for many watching many sporting events from home and abroad, including rugby, football, horse-racing and Gaelic games
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for some food. It's a lovely traditional looking wee bar inside. The food was average and did the job for dinner, however the server, while very polite didn't really give us peace to eat. He checked on us 5 times in the time it took us to eat our dinner and then set a trip advisor card down on the table infront of us after he cleared our plates. Felt like being pressured into giving a good review

Thank Nikkii31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Owner at Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to place a review. We apologize if you felt you were checked on too much. We aim to make sure that all our diners are satisfied. No diner is pressured into placing a review. A card is left and it is up to the individual whether or not to place a review good or bad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Anytime we come here for dinner we never leave disappointed. Tasty food & efficient service. The decor of the pub is quaint & interesting. Would highly recommend it.

Thank Aoife C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Owner at Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review. We really appreciate it. Delighted to hear that you enjoy coming to us and we hope that this will continue for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent meal. Cozy atmosphere. Real Irish ambiance. Family member from Clonmel recommended it highly.

Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Owner at Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We really appreciate it. Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us and the atmosphere. Hope to see you back with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Walking around Clonmel for a place to enjoy some good pubgrub and a Bulmers... from the outside it already looks like the place to be... once inside this was confirmed...
Great interior, typical Irish music, brilliant atmosphere and also great food.... not a lot to do in Clonmel... but this place alone is worth visiting. Cheers!

Thank Maurice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Owner at Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking time to place a review. We really appreciate it. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us so much. Thank you for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic pub, full of interesting culture. Spotless and shiny. Great service. Delicious burger. Highly recommend the steak sandwich too!

Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Owner at Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking time to place a review. We really appreciate it. Great to hear that you enjoyed the steak sandwich. Hope you will call back to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Clonmel, County Tipperary
Clonmel, County Tipperary
 
Clonmel, County Tipperary
 

Been to Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing