We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world!”
Review of Hotel Minella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Minella
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

What a joy. Beautiful Hotel. Spotless in every way. You will not be dissapointed. Food is superb. Wine list brilliant. Staff are extremely attentive and friendly. A very warm welcome awaits you should you choose this lovely hotel to stay in or just for lunch or evening meal! Enjoy!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wybmadiity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    100
    35
    16
    18
See reviews for
121
106
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I enjoyed this hotel, I stayed in it last august, while visiting my older Brother who was living and working in Clonmel. it had a nice location, our room had a view if the Suir River. The staff were really friendly and helpful. oh there was a resident dog which was cute.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have stayed at this Hotel three times now, we use it as a stopping off point travelling to the south west of Ireland from the ferry port at Rosslaire. The rooms are well appointed, modern and tastefully decorated, everything you need is there, the usual hospitality tray with the addition of hot drinks brought to your room on arrival is a fantastic welcome and much appreciated after a long crossing and drive. Staff are very welcoming and nothing is is too much trouble for them. We did not eat in the evening having arrived too late but breakfast t was excellent, served by staff who we pleasant and helpful, a small point but when the meal is taken from the servery it is placed under the grill to ensure it is hot. These little points make this hotel the exception, so much so that we have decided to holiday there in the near future and explore County Tipperary. Highly Recommended you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We use rooms at the back looking towards the hills, as it is only one night stays, the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Just on the way home after having spent 2 wonderfully relaxing nights in hotel Minella!
Front of house staff are as others have said a credit to the hotel & Julie deserves a special mention. Nothing was too much trouble for her & she always had a smile has a lovely welcoming nature. Complimentary coffee was a very welcome & unexpected treat when we checked in.
Rooms were spotlessly clean. We had a balcony & were situated to the front of the hotel & I spent the 2 days wishing I was at the back of the hotel as the views over the gardens & river are beautiful.
Dinner on the sat night was absolutely perfect. Again staff were friendly & helpful. Food was beautiful. It's a limited menu but I suspect everything on it would be of the best quality. What we ate certainly was. THE DESSERT TROLLEY - oh my word this is a sight to behold. It came out when I was eating my main & I almost couldn't concentrate on my dinner I was so busy trying to figure out how on earth I would choose from the wonderful array of desserts on display.
We were blessed to have lovely weather & if I had one tiny criticism it would be that although there are loads of picnic tables situated out the back overlooking the river you don't feel enticed to sit outside. A few candles would have made the gardens so much more inviting & maybe some fairy lights on the pergola. The bar area is situated in the original house and can spread over 3 rooms. Very relaxing and great for sitting and enjoying after dinner drinks & conversation. This is a perfect place for groups & families wanting to relax & enjoy each other's company without having to shout across loud music.
Breakfast both mornings was perfect and cooked to perfection.
Everything was just smoothly done with no fuss or bother involved.
We went to the hotel planning on having a relaxing break and that is exactly what we did. Everything about the hotel lends itself to relaxation. We popped into clonmel briefly but spent most of the time at the hotel. If you are looking for somewhere that will go that extra mile to make you feel welcome & to go home feeling relaxed & refreshed this is definitely the place. It is a very quiet hotel but I'm sure if it's night life you are after then there is plenty of bars on offer in Clonmel & a taxi only costs about €6.
We didn't use the leisure facilities so I can't comment on them.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibi09ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked our annual family weekend away to Hotel Minella not really knowing what to expect. What a lovely welcome from the Front of House staff. There were 17 of us, booking 4 interconnecting family rooms and 1 twin room. Check-in was painless and quick with an added bonus of a lovely member of staff helping us with bags to our room. All the interconnecting rooms where on ground level and all the families were accommodated on this floor. Interconnecting rooms had a King size bed and a single bed in each room over looking the lovely gardens at the back of the hotel, same with both rooms. The only quibble I would have is that room 31/32 has a humming noise which runs throughout the night that can become bothersome if you are a light sleeper! Rooms are large and nicely decorated. Bathrooms are a little tired but nothing a bit of cosmetic care would take care of. We ate bar food the first night and it was lovely. On the Saturday we had arranged a meal in the restaurant for my father in laws birthday and I had emailed the hotel on the different things that I wanted arranged and everything was in place. Overall the staff are the most lovely courteous people I have ever encountered in a Hotel and if I was the owner of the hotel I would try my best to keep hold of them all!!! Nothing was a problem, Leisure Center Spa was lovely too.....it helped that the weather was glorious for the weekend. I would have NO hesitation on recommending this hotel which I think we will come back to over the years.

Room Tip: Try and book a room overlooking the Gardens at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank poppie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
3.7 km away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.8 km away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
106 reviews
0.9 km away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 km away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
596 reviews
37.0 km away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
366 reviews
1.2 km away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
Mulcahy's Clonmel
#5 of 6 in Clonmel
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minella

Property: Hotel Minella
Address: Coleville Road, Clonmel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the Nallen family since opening in 1962. The minella is situated on the banks of the river suir just 1/2 mile from clonmel town.A 5 million development has just been completed. Club Minella is the Health & fitness club with a 20 meter pool & outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. 4**** family owned and managed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Minella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minella Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing