We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
163
156
108
65
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
156
108
65
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ramada resort leisure centre pool and jacuzzi changing rooms are pleasant girl interconnecting rooms cleaning staff went straight steak sandwich night porter tea coffee bar food both nights lovely hotel enjoyable stay one night stay food was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my husband booked in to this hotel for one night, we were given a room, after seeing the heavily stained carpet I decided to go to reception and I told a male receptionist that I was not happy because of the carpet, I was sent a few doors down to another room, which carpet was still stained, we didn't feel comfortable staying so we decided to leave and found other accommodation, I Complained through booking.com as I booked through them , they contacted Carnbeg hotel but they couldn't get management to contact them, I also asked for to speak to management about this issue and my phone number was taken and was told someone would make contact, they haven't as yet,

Stayed: August 2018
3  Thank 441tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerWoganW, Manager at Carnbeg Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We apologize that you have had a bad experience in our hotel.
We are currently under going carpet replacement in our bedrooms.
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Took 2 people to find our booking on arrival. Restaurant extremely poor. Had to ask for water on the table, cutlery for 2nd course, waited 15 mins for a glass of wine, a staff member asked to take our starter plates away when we were still eating as our main course was ready, main course food was very bad. Was asked 3 times for our room number & brought someone else's bill. Changing rooms in the leisure centre were not clean.
Don't expect good service if you stay here.
On a plus, the pool is lovely & warm.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Voyager726508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerWoganW, Manager at Carnbeg Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Very sorry to hear of your recent disappointing stay with us . We are currently in a seasonal staffing transition with a number of new food and beverage staff undergoing training and it would appear that we need to have a closer management eye to their guest interaction . They are currently undergoing a 4 weeks training programme and I am sure if you return you will receive much improved service in line with our own and your expectations . Your comment about leisure club cleanliness has been discussed at our management meeting today and increased cleaning has been scheduled . Please contact us directly at sales@carnbeghotel.ie and we would be delighted to invite you back for a stay with us in the future when you can enjoy a much improved experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very impressed by the staff on the front desk on arrival, extremely helpful and pleasant. Unfortunately the hotel room was at first glance nice but we had no hot water for the shower or bath almost tepid and we were freezing despite some guy supposedly turning on the heating it gurgled then went if so we were chilled all stay. Visited the leisure centre where tiredness of the complex continued and againg lovely friendly staff but equipment etc lacking maintenance and again only tepid water in the showers!! Another lady thre had the same problem also met a guy who also had no hit water in his shower in one of the rooms. For the price we expected at least heating and a hot shower.the space allocated for the bed must have been for a bigger bed as we could see holes in the wall where the powercords went on either side of the bed. Lighting in the room was very poor no main light at all.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerWoganW, Manager at Carnbeg Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Delighted that your interation with the front desk was positive they are a very friendly and welcoming bunch .Unfortunately on the day in question we had a boiler failure for a number of hours and it took our systems a little time to recover so apologies for this . Somewhat surprised in relation to the leisure club as it has been completely refurbished in the past months . The only maintenance issue from the leisure teams daily checks was a bike seat which has since been fixed . Also delighted that you found our bedrooms very comfortable and spacious . The lighting lux has been significantly improved in the past 4 months by the installation of low energy high lux lighting and has not been a guest issue since this installation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Grounds and drive up to the hotel were very nice. Checkin was stated as 3, we arrived at 3:30 to be told our room wasn’t ready! When we were on our way up to our room we found breakfast dishes outside a door on our floor! Room however was lovely and spacious with nice furnishings, lovely comfy bed and sofa. No furniture on balcony as advertised though. Balcony door didn’t lock and after housekeeping checked it and said they would report it we were told later at reception none of suite balconies lock (bit odd!) Dinner was lovely just very slow service and we weren’t offered drinks, had to ask for water and were told they would try to find a jug. Bar area was really nice and chilled. Breakfast was nice but again we had an issue with service. Waiter asked us tea or coffe then disappeared! A while later we asked another waitress who brought it straight over.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank 0kerrir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerWoganW, Manager at Carnbeg Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad that you were impressed by our approach driveway and our location on 100 acres just 1 mile from Dundalk town . Our check in time is from 3 pm and we endeavour to have rooms ready for guests thereafter but on fully booked days like every hotel this can prove to be a challenge . We do always offer a complimentary tea or coffee and or use of the leisure club to reduce any inconvenience for guests . Delighted that you found one of our suites to be excellent and the lock on the balcony has been fixed . We do not now place seating on balconies due to health and safety concerns . Glad that you enjoyed breakfast and we have a number of staff in training at the moment so apologies for any slow service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked to stay for my 40th birthday, even thou it was only few miles from where we live you would never have thought it , we felt we were in the countryside somewhere miles away from home . Very relaxing environment , dinner excellent and breakfast was super. All members of staff went above and beyond for us. My partner used the swimming pool and he loved it , we definetly stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank maz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerWoganW, Manager at Carnbeg Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your excellent comments and its is great that you enjoyed your 40th birthday with us . Yes our location is deceptive set on 100 acres but still just 1 mile from Dundalk town . Very happy to hear that your dinner experience was excellent with us and your breakfast experience was even better . The team certainly delivered a great break and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews