We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better”
Review of Riva Brasserie

Riva Brasserie
Ranked #4 of 111 Restaurants in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Dundalk town centre within walking distance of great shopping and the main shopping attractions.This family run business is recommended by visitors and popular with locals. We can offer our guests the flexibility of a delicious bite to eat at breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or a a more indulgent al la cart dinning experience.GROUP BOOKINGS Family Occasions - Working Lunches - Christmas and New Year Parties. A superb choice of food and bar menus to suit every occasion and budget.From initial booking to service, our staff will work with you to create the perfect setting for your event. Riva Brasserie can cater for private group bookings of up to 90 persons seated.EXCLUSIVE PRIVATE DINING HIRE Exclusive hire of the entire restaurant is possible, this allows quests private use of the bar and dinning area for a special event, where the restaurant will be closed to the public.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Have a party with my gang of friends there. 3 Course meal is economical (€18) but the choice is limited and there's no Alaska menu for us. The environment atmosphere is fantastic but the food is just so so...we expected more. I ordered chicken wings and salmon. Salmon is tasteless and the mashed potato is too dried. But the dessert of the day is wonderful!! I would definitely come again but I wish other dishes would better.

Thank happyblacky5999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith A, Owner at Riva Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi thanks for taken the time to leave a review. Our early bird menu for €18 (3 courses) is just a few our most popular dishes. We do have plenty of other dish’s on our A la cart menu which is available along side our early bird menu but at a slightly higher price. Apologies about the salmon and if you make yourself knowing to management on your next visit we will make sure you are looked after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018

This was last minute early bird visit and what a surprise.
Delicious food well presented by a welcoming bubbly front of house young lady staff member who took care to ensure we had a terrific experience.
Smart casual with good surroundings - well decorated.
Will be back -
Bonus was BYOB mid week.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 326Franco145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We had the pleasure of dining here last night with my parents and we just have to say a huge thank you to our waitress Clara who looked after us exceptionally well. We were so impressed at the selection of dishes available on the early bird, which was excellent value at just €18 for three courses. It was interesting to note too that there is no supplement for steak or fish dishes, something which is rather unusual these days. We enjoyed delicious arancini, fish cakes and caesar salad starters followed by risotto, Thai green curry, a burger and salmon. Every dish was delectable. We were too full for dessert but Clara packed up our sticky toffee puddings to take home. It is BYOB on Tuesday and Wednesday evenings and on Thursdays for an extra €2 you can have a glass of wine with your meal. All in all a wonderful dining experience at the right price. We will be back. Soon!

Thank dundalkcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith A, Owner at Riva Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi guys thanks for taken the time to leave the review, you will be pleased to here that Clara received a bonus for the excellent review you guys left her. We look forward to welcoming you back and appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

This is the fourth time I came here to had a meal ,the pasta was extremely creamy with chicken and bacon ,yummy!!!!

Thank O7525YCchristinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith A, Owner at Riva Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks the review we really appreciate you taken the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

On Friday the ninth of February I came here for a meal out. The waitresses and waiters were very friendly an the service was excellent. We Didn't have to wait long at all. I ordered the chicken Tuscan sandwich and cheesy nachos for a starter. They were delicious. This, in my opinion is the best restaurant in Dundalk. The ambiance was lovely and they had a beautiful chandelier which I marvelled at. The dinner was a very reasonable cost and the food was cooked to perfection. I Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Dundalk. It really is the centre of Dundalk cuisine.

Thank Uncle_Cornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith A, Manager at Riva Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you so much for taken the time to leave your wonderful review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riva Brasserie also viewed

Dundalk, County Louth
Dundalk, County Louth
 
Dundalk, County Louth
 

Been to Riva Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing