We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Senior golfers delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

One of our senior outings and what a great choice! The golf course is beautifully manicured in a way that it was hard to lose a ball. Scoring reflected the challenge of this course but the meal and the staff who were absolutely top class levelled things out. That the hotel gave us an extra prize was a welcome touch. Other hotels take note. We will be going back again and again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor and we are delighted that your golf outing here at Ballymascanlon Hotel was so enjoyable and a great success.

We very much look forward to welcoming you all back again very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

This property a combination of the modern and the old is a peaceful retreat from the busy motorway and the town of Dundalk. Situated in lush green gardens with a superb gift course this hotel is a home from home. Attention to every detail is no doubt a key to maintaining such a loyal clientele. The dining room epitomises class with proper silverware, crisp linen napkins and the best of local food offerings.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience at Ballymascanlon Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Spent 2 days last week at this hotel & had a great experience. Totally professional,, well appointed lovely bedrooms . Staff really attentive and lovely food. Fab art works everywhere. Special place and so unpretentious . Definitely would love a return stay!

Stayed: April 2016
Thank hennesseys2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, we also hope that you return to visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Stopped off on our way to Dublin for breakfast and boy did we enjoy one hell of a feed. It has been Many a day since we had a breakfast like this. There was so much choice and the service was brilliant. The price 13 euros was so reasonable for this quality and abundance of food. It was so good that I have booked a weekend at this hotel because it was excellent. Well done. The staff are so friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent breakfast stop off with us. We are delighted that you chose Ballymascanlon Hotel to break your journey and that you enjoyed the food and service we offer.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

On our way down from Dublin and just needed a break. Stumbled on this lovely hotel.
We had a quick G&T, bowl of soup and pudding. All excellent. The young waitress with tied back blond hair was super.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank parklane1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that your travels brought you to Ballymascanlon Hotel yesterday, we hope we will be able to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
7.7 km away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#3 of 8 in Dundalk
734 reviews
3.8 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
336 reviews
6.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
693 reviews
16.1 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
4.5 km away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymascanlon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Address: Carlingford Road, Dundalk A91 PF57, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range: €121 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballymascanlon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballymascanlon House is set on 130 acres of beautiful parkland, this impressive Victorian House forms the heart of this Hotel. It is one of the most remarkable historical estates in Ireland dating back to 833 A.D. Steeped in history, Ballymascanlon estate is located in Ireland’s North East on the Cooley Peninsula in close proximity to the Irish Sea and Mourne Mountains. Less than 1 hour from Dublin and Belfast, and 20 minutes from the medieval town of Carlingford. Owned and run with pride and dedication by the Quinn Family, we are delighted to welcome you to our beautiful luxurious venue, ideal for both Business and Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing