We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family golf day John Q”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2015

It was the week of the Irish open golf ,thousands were on the road north to Newcastle co.Down to support an Irish winner.However our lads did not shine and we decided to play ourselves and cut our viewing on the final day.But where were we to get a golf course at such short notice?.We made a few calls to no avail until we had a brainwave.What about that 5 star hotel complex and private golf course we passed by on our way up just north of Dundalk was it not?.There would be no golf competition on there! and there were some good reviews.A quick call was made and to our great relief the golf superintendent Gerry gave us a tee time that was perfect for our journey back home.As we drove the tree lined avenue between the first and second fairways we could see we were in for a real treat as the course looked in pristine condition provoking our category one player to exclaim ;I think I can shoot a 69 here lads!!! Having studied the course over a coffee and sandwich in the sporting club lounge Gerry sent us on our way.The first six holes were very good with no rough but a lot of decidious trees to test your driving.0ur C1 player was level par.The signature holes are the 7th and 8th the former demanding a pin point accurate 2nd shot and the latter an arrow like drive.On the 9th tee our C1 player was now 4 over and very quiet as he faced the 9th a long par 4 dogleg out of reach into a stiff breese.The second nine is equally challenging and has a wonderful display of flora, fauna,and historical features.Our overall experience was one of the most enjoyable parkland courses no lost balls but bring your fishing net for retrieving your ball from the crystal clear streams.A word of caution do not use the stream stones they are very slippery!!!.all in all it is our mini Augusta and very reasonable even at weekends

Room Tip: best room view or quiet room availabe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel and golf course on Tripadvisor, following your return from the Irish Open in Newcastle.

We are delighted that you thought of us and then had such an enjoyable round of golf, the owner of the hotel was thrilled to have it described as your "mini Augusta"!

Please let all your friends and family know about us and we sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ballymascanlon Hotel and Golf Course in the very near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 260 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2015

We stayed for four nights and were not disappointed. The service, rooms and food were excellent and although busy with the Golf Club this did not distract from the overall standard. Set in its own grounds with leisure facilities we would certainly stay again when in Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted you and your friends enjoyed all that Ballymascanlon Hotel has to offer and we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

I come to this hotel a couple of times a year for work. It's your classic hands on owner run establishment. The staff are friendly but not in your face.

The rooms are 4 Star, modern and scrupulously clean. Wifi is complimentary, breakfast is good and the bar menu is very good.

It does exactly what it says on the tin and you have the added bonus of the grounds. In short it is the best locally by five country miles.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank Caveat Viator C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Ballymascanlon and we were delighted to see you back again.

We are pleased that once again you found everything to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Stayed here recently for three nights with a group of Retirees. Great hotel in beautiful surroundings. Excellent service by great staff in a very serene environment. A very central location for visiting historic and scenic sites .

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Faganman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted you all enjoyed the hotel and the gardens and we hope to see you again at Ballymascanlon Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Stayed here as a wedding guest and throughly enjoyed ourselves.

What a stunning hotel, the grounds are sublime and the rooms spacious and comfortable.

The wedding meal was amazing and without a doubt the best wedding meal I have had by far. All staff were friendly, helpful and attentive.

The only downside, the heat in our room was quite overpowering as the radiatior knob was faulty we informed reception on checkout so hopefully this has been resolved now.

Breakfast was well cooked and hot unlike some other buffets.

Overall, loved our stay here and would recommend in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor at the back of the hotel have juliet balconys which are quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Belfast89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding at Ballymascanlon Hotel and the facilities on offer at the hotel.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
7.7 km away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#3 of 8 in Dundalk
734 reviews
3.8 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
336 reviews
6.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
693 reviews
16.1 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
4.5 km away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymascanlon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Address: Carlingford Road, Dundalk A91 PF57, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range: €121 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballymascanlon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballymascanlon House is set on 130 acres of beautiful parkland, this impressive Victorian House forms the heart of this Hotel. It is one of the most remarkable historical estates in Ireland dating back to 833 A.D. Steeped in history, Ballymascanlon estate is located in Ireland’s North East on the Cooley Peninsula in close proximity to the Irish Sea and Mourne Mountains. Less than 1 hour from Dublin and Belfast, and 20 minutes from the medieval town of Carlingford. Owned and run with pride and dedication by the Quinn Family, we are delighted to welcome you to our beautiful luxurious venue, ideal for both Business and Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing