We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hanging around, good food arrived super quickly”

Smugglers Inn Restaurant Waterville Co. Kerry
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Waterville
Price range: US$37 - US$106
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the beautiful coastal scenery of Waterville, County Kerry, the Smugglers Inn has been a family run business since 1980. Henry Hunt, Chef/Proprietor, prides himself on the variety of delicious locally sourced produce available in his restaurant. Fresh fish landed in Portmagee, lobster from Ballinskelligs Bay, meats and game from Kerry, and vegetables sourced from local farmers are just a few of the mouth watering foods that keep our customers coming back for more. All dishes are made in-house to provide our guests with the best possible produce. So with great food, accommodation and wedding packages, not to mention the incredible wild Atlantic views, what's not to love. Open on a seasonal basis from April to October. Booking advisable as may be closed on quiet days at the start and end of the season.
Reviewed 23 August 2021 via mobile

Enjoyable meal, good well cooked seafood, as ever the kids menu predictable with nothing to suit a gf vegetarian child but they said they’d do kids size portions of other items and settled on salad to start and picked various from our dishes for mains. Highly recommend the monkfish tails (not gf) which came with tiny greens spheres that they said was wasabi-

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2021

Had a most fantastic evening here with friends. We dined in the Glass Dome. Food was excellent and the staff friendly but very professional. This is brilliant for a meal and the value is amazing.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank karlo966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

Went here with family and then friends. In good weather the outdoor dining was fantastic. Food was fresh and tasty. We went back a few times.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Ciara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2021

Recently returned from a special break in this beautiful hotel.We stayed here on numerous occasions some years back but as one knows life gets in the way and keeps us busy but we returned this month to spend some time here. I felt as if we returned to a very special place...from the beautifully and tastefully redecorated rooms to the magnificent food that was served in the spectacular dining conservatory. The staff are so courteous and helpful. The level of cleanliness was very reassuring and the staff went above the call of duty to keep us safe. The views are spectacular and would recommend sitting outside after your meal with a nice glass of red to savour the view....also include the prawns as one of your starters....they are spectacular.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank rossbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2021

The Smugglers Inn is a lovely place to go for a meal. Set in a beautiful location beside a gorgeous beach it’s the perfect choice for a holiday meal out in Waterville. The staff are lovely, friendly and welcoming which is important when you are a solo diner. I chose their famous prawn dish which was delicious washed down with a lovely pint of Guinness. Special mention for the fantastic barman / manager Andre who made sure I was well looked after during my evening there. Have to say he pulls a damn fine pint of the black stuff which deserves an award in itself. :)

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank IrishGurrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Smugglers Inn Restaurant Waterville Co. Kerry also viewed

 
Waterville, County Kerry
 

Been to Smugglers Inn Restaurant Waterville Co. Kerry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.