We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again for Valentines!!! (Or any other big event.)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2009

To start on a good note - lovely hotel, in a fantastic setting. And the serving staff were excellent for the nightmare night they were about to have.

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for Valentines night 2009 on a special deal - bed, breakfast & dinner for €260, which I thought was reasonable for Valentines night.

Alarm bells started ringing when I got a phone call the next day telling me that the only dinner slot they had available was for 10pm! This was blamed on too many bookings from too many sources. (Simple solution - don't take so many bookings.)

Staff were friendly at check-in. I enquired again if we could eat a little earlier and was told to come down to the bar a little early and it might be possible.
We arrived down at half 9. Went to the bar to get a drink and the barman asked me what time I was due to eat.
I said 10 and he actually snorted and said, "You'll be lucky!".

Turned out he was right, we didn't sit down for dinner until 11:30!!

It was very difficult to talk to the manager because every other person in the restaurant was grabbing her to complain about the service and the length of time they were waiting to be seated, or the length of time they were waiting for their courses to arrive (45 mins for soup to arrive in one conversation I overheard).
I managed to stop her twice, both times she went off to check and never came back. In the mean time I was spending money in the bar with no offer of a free drink!

Once seated - as I said the staff were very good. You could see they'd had a terrible night but were still smiling. And our food was excellent, with no delays in service. No doubt this was due to the fact that there were only 3 tables left in the restaurant at this time.

On checking out I commented on the problems from the night before and was told that the chef had only been there 3 months so was not used to such big crowds! I'm sorry but what nonsense. How on earth did he get hired in the first place if this was the case. Looks to me like there were too many people booked in for dinner and not enough staff hired to cope with the demand. Dreadful, dreadful management.

And final nail in the coffin - not even an offer of a cent of the price. Customer Service I think may be dead at the Glasson. From the management at least.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

618 - 622 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2008

Booked a one night stay at the glasson golf hotel for myself and the wife.

On arrival at the hotel met by the friendlist reception staff i have met in a long time. Not the standard grumpy, disinterested staff that most irish hotels seem to hire nowadays. We were upgraded on arrival to a lakeview room. Had a problem with a taxi being late for an important appointment but the response from the reception was fantastic who made sure we got there on time.

Used the bar and restaraunt. Bar staff really friendly and efficient.

Would definetly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

This was a return trip for me and I was a little disappointed. The room was not as nice as before, but still had the great view.

It started with having to ring twice as the phone was not answered the first time.

The hotel also had a larger group in and as a couple on their own it didn't leave much room in the bar. We felt the golf group received all the attention. We had to go up and ask for things.

We didn't have dinner and the breakfast buffet was ok but not fantastic.

Having been twice, I don't think we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncandDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Just returned from a lovely "special offer" break at this Hotel. We dealt with a lovely friendly receptionist who upgraded us to a beautiful room overlooking the lake. The room was huge, bathroom also large with double sinks, bath and separate walk-in shower and bath.

Breakfast was above average; the freshly home-made brown scones being the highlight. We had dinner in the dining-room in the old part of the house. I can honestly say it was one of the nicest dinners we have ever had. Everything from starter to coffee was delicious. Service was efficient and fast. The hotel is mainly geared towards golfers and the club house is incorporated into the hotel. Although we didnt play golf we found the course to be very well manicured and it appeared to be a challenging course.

The most positive aspect of this hotel was the friendliness of the reception and dining-room staff particulary the breakfast staff.
We were made feel welcome at all times.

The only negative aspect , as previous reviewers have noted, is the lack of a comfortable bar/lounge for hotel guests. The only bar in the hotel is in the golf club end and being hotel guests we felt completely out of it.

All in all it was a really nice place to stay and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Meant to also add that we ate in Grogans pub in the village of Glasson and would higly recommend this establishment also.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Stayed in Glasson Hotel for 2 nights from 13th-15th July '08. The hotel & golf course overlook Lough Ree & is in a beautiful tranquil location about 4 miles from Athlone which is a nice town with lots of pubs with live music & planty of shops. Our twin room was huge & immaculate & overlooked the lake & golf course. The beds were large & v comfortable, bathroom has double handbasins, v powerful walkin shower & bath. For breakfast there were cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, scones, croissants & irish fries/eggs etc. We ate in the restaurant on the 2nd night & food was lovely. Our favourite thing about the Glasson was the firendliness of the reception staff who were always smiling & ready to help. We don't play golf so i can't rate the golfcourse but i certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
6.2 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,986 reviews
5.9 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,204 reviews
1.6 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
8.7 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
955 reviews
6.4 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: €108 - €211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing