We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$189
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arch House B&B & Apartments(Athlone)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$138
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$148
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$153
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
US$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveller rating
515
119
22
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
119
22
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseround of golfgolf tripgolf societywedding venuea family run hotelgreat golfwedding receptionamazing weddinglough reebeautiful settingtop classfrom start to finishwonderful hotelwedding guestswould highly recommend this hotelsecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
652 - 657 of 674 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Booked a one night stay at the glasson golf hotel for myself and the wife.

On arrival at the hotel met by the friendlist reception staff i have met in a long time. Not the standard grumpy, disinterested staff that most irish hotels seem to hire nowadays. We were upgraded on arrival to a lakeview room. Had a problem with a taxi being late for an important appointment but the response from the reception was fantastic who made sure we got there on time.

Used the bar and restaraunt. Bar staff really friendly and efficient.

Would definetly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

This was a return trip for me and I was a little disappointed. The room was not as nice as before, but still had the great view.

It started with having to ring twice as the phone was not answered the first time.

The hotel also had a larger group in and as a couple on their own it didn't leave much room in the bar. We felt the golf group received all the attention. We had to go up and ask for things.

We didn't have dinner and the breakfast buffet was ok but not fantastic.

Having been twice, I don't think we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncandDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Just returned from a lovely "special offer" break at this Hotel. We dealt with a lovely friendly receptionist who upgraded us to a beautiful room overlooking the lake. The room was huge, bathroom also large with double sinks, bath and separate walk-in shower and bath.

Breakfast was above average; the freshly home-made brown scones being the highlight. We had dinner in the dining-room in the old part of the house. I can honestly say it was one of the nicest dinners we have ever had. Everything from starter to coffee was delicious. Service was efficient and fast. The hotel is mainly geared towards golfers and the club house is incorporated into the hotel. Although we didnt play golf we found the course to be very well manicured and it appeared to be a challenging course.

The most positive aspect of this hotel was the friendliness of the reception and dining-room staff particulary the breakfast staff.
We were made feel welcome at all times.

The only negative aspect , as previous reviewers have noted, is the lack of a comfortable bar/lounge for hotel guests. The only bar in the hotel is in the golf club end and being hotel guests we felt completely out of it.

All in all it was a really nice place to stay and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Meant to also add that we ate in Grogans pub in the village of Glasson and would higly recommend this establishment also.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Stayed in Glasson Hotel for 2 nights from 13th-15th July '08. The hotel & golf course overlook Lough Ree & is in a beautiful tranquil location about 4 miles from Athlone which is a nice town with lots of pubs with live music & planty of shops. Our twin room was huge & immaculate & overlooked the lake & golf course. The beds were large & v comfortable, bathroom has double handbasins, v powerful walkin shower & bath. For breakfast there were cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, scones, croissants & irish fries/eggs etc. We ate in the restaurant on the 2nd night & food was lovely. Our favourite thing about the Glasson was the firendliness of the reception staff who were always smiling & ready to help. We don't play golf so i can't rate the golfcourse but i certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

Visited this hotel for one night. On arrival we were welcomed warmly.. One room was not ready so we were given an upgrade. Two rooms were superb . Beautiful decor , very large comfortable beds with gorgeous view of Lough Ree . We choose to dine in the bar. Food was delicious. The decor of the bar and conservatory was very dull. This is a pity as this area could have delightful views . A draw back is the lack of a comfortable area - maybe with open fire - to sit and relax . Breakfast was unimaginative . Food seemed to have been prepared for some time. ( even though we had breakfast at 8.00 am). A beautiful golf course and we had an enjoyable round despite gale force winds. Staff were to be complimented. Courteous, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionnuala_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews