We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tricia C.
Birmingham, United Kingdom

Lovely room; disappointing breakfast

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
We had a lovely clean spacious room with a balcony and fresh air from the French window. Car-parking was easy. Room was quiet and had good thick curtains so it was nice and dark. Our only complaint would be the breakfast - no muesli, only rows of Kelloggs' highly processed variants. Lumpy scrambled egg. There was some brown bread and a toaster at least (and the usual carnivore options of greasy sausages, black pudding etc). We would certainly stay again if revisiting Athlone.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan McCaul, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Tricia,
Thank you so much for your lovely review , We really appreciate it.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would revisit us again. I am sorry to hear what you've said regarding breakfast. We will definitely take this on board and try to improve from this.

Thank you again,
Alan McCaul,
General Manager,
Shamrock Lodge Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€225
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    €225
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€199
€175
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
5.7 km from Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Radissonhotels.com
    €115
0.7 km from Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €133
  • Algotels
3.1 km from Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
  • StayForLong
0.8 km from Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
6.4 km from Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.0 km from Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
7.0 km from Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    €332
  • Priceline
7.1 km from Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Athlone
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveller rating
406
226
100
36
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
406
226
100
36
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel town centre function room hen party top class double bed would highly recommend this hotel second to none alan wedding bar meal ireland mary fab
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 807 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2024

The hotel is located just outside the town. Friendly check-in staff made the process easy. The decor in the rooms allocated was worn and only local TV channels are available. Heating is with electric panels which are hard to control. Some towels are worn and the beds are not firm. Noise from room to room is high as is noise from the adjacent road. The staff are friendly and the breakfast buffet is reasonable. Ask for a room overlooking the parking at the front of the hotel entrance.

Room tip: Choose a room overlooking the parking lot at the hotel entrance.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FailteEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan McCaul, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.
Thank you for your feedback regarding some improvements we can make, it is always appreciated.
I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel at another time.
With every best wish,
Alan McCaul,
General Manager,
Shamrock Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2024

Rudely awakened by the fire alarm at 6.30am. Evacuate ... but the fire exit was still electro-magnetically locked, which frankly shouldn't happen and is a safety critical failure. Then no staff, no fire marshals, no fire wardens and no responsible person on site for 20 minutes whilst guests stood outside in the cold. Then just a mumbled apology. It's lucky this shambles was a false alarm. The hotel needs to review its fire risk assessment and procedures.

Room tip: Ask if they have learned from their mistakes regarding fire safety procedures.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Go15657232826
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan McCaul, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very disappointed to hear about this experience at our hotel. I have fully investigated your review and have taken all of your comments on board.
This situation was caused as a result of guest continuously smoking in one of our bedrooms.
This resulted in the fire alarm going off several times.
I can assure you that our night porter was dealing with this to the best of his ability and all of our managers and night staff are fully trained in Fire & Safety.

Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2024

It was great to revisit my favourite hotel in Athlone. Everyone in this family - run hotel is so welcoming and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
The room and bathroom were spotless. In fact the whole hotel could not be faulted for cleanliness and hygiene.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayoartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan McCaul, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely review , We really appreciate it.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again
Alan McCaul,
General Manager,
Shamrock Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2024

We stayed at the Shamrock Lodge for 3 nights. The room was spacious, and clean,overlooking the car park. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a good choice for breakfast. We also had a few evening meals here and they were of a high standard and delicious. We highly recommend the Shamrock Lodge and would stay here again if visiting the area.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 25keithj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan McCaul, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2024

Dear Keith,
Thank you so much for your lovely review , We really appreciate it.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and also thank you so much for your kind words regarding breakfast and dinner.

Thank you again,
Alan McCaul,
General Manager,
Shamrock Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2024

Dear management team and staff
My daughter had her communion on the 11th of may in the Lovely lodge. The food was delicious and staff were extremely friendly and pleasant they are an incredible team. Its was very busy with the kids and Families everyone was very nice and friendly well done. Thank you so very much
Aoife nolan

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Companion30996883223
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan McCaul, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review.
We are delighted to hear you all enjoyed the communion.
I will pass on your lovely comments to the team here at Shamrock Lodge Hotel.

Thank you again,
Alan McCaul,
General Manager,
Shamrock Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews