We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,489)
Filter reviews
2,489 results
Traveller rating
1,017
754
380
183
155
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,017
754
380
183
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a business class room overlooking the river decking area junior suite lovely hotel shannon river bar food bar staff family room centre of town hot food breakfast was excellent enjoyable stay stayed here for one night a lovely stay food was lovely cyril
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,489 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2020

Stayed here just before lockdown in March. Every member of staff were wonderful. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant and were given a free late checkout. I'm sorry its taken a long time to get around to reviewing. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and hopefully will get back to stay again.
Good luck with the winter months and hope any restrictions don't have too much of an adverse impact on a great hotel.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank rosemarie_oneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2020

Check in was slow,& not professional..The room was grubby at best .furniture looked like ,bad B&B.the view was a combination of a tall structure outside the window with a walkway,littered with cig ends,doodies,weeds &dog litter,it was positioned beside staff restaurant elevator,we passed at 1 stage to find trays with scraps remaining on trolleys,we rang duty manager ,he reiterated that "we were lucky ,the elevator would not be in use next morning !?Thestaurant had all the hallmarks of a Month Python sketch,the waitress,staff seemed a litttle confused ,&service was chaotic,I had to go to kitchen to get a Steak knife myself.I know this was a few weeks after lockdown,but seriouslyI 5 Star,?The saving grace came in the form of excellent staff on duty for breakfast,but for the price it was abysmal.

Room tip: Look for 3\4floor ,avoid bottom floors.the views are poor.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank judeslawRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corporate Customer Care Corporate Customer Care, Owner at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. I regret to know that we were unable to meet with your expectations during your stay with us. On behalf of the entire team, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you may have faced at the time of your stay due to cleanliness, maintenance and condition of the room and poor staff services particularly with the breakfast. Your comments is very important for us and immediate actions will be taken to resolve and adjust our services accordingly. Kindly consider this experience as a one off occurrence and does not reflect the usual high standard we strive to achieve. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to have the opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2020

We have stayed in this hotel many times and it never disappoints. The views of the Shannon from the bar and veranda are fantastic. The staff are excelkent. The bar staff were lovely and Avril looked after us so well for breakfast. Great staff make all the difference! We will return! Thank-you.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 730annmariek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus O'Donovan, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Dear Annmarie,

Many thanks for your lovely review and your valued feedback, We are delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your recent stay and that you found the team to be so lovely. We will certainly pass on your comments to Avril and the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Fergus O' Donovan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020

Our group of six spent an enjoyable evening here, good beer and good bar food in the bar. The restaurant was closed and only a limited menu was available, but the pizza's were very good. Rooms were very comfortable - but very few people were staying in the hotel - obviously nobody was given a room of a higher grade than they paid for - maybe the Radisson Blu are missing a trick here to entice more people to stay, as it would have cost nothing to do a complimentary upgrade - as they obviously had plenty of rooms free.
Breakfast was very good - and well presented - Avril runs a tight ship as well as being very pleasant and good fun, everything we wanted came to us, and swiftly too (not surprising as it wasn't exactly busy).
I would not hesitate to stay here again - thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank pag63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus O'Donovan, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that your stay with us was such a pleasant one and that you enjoyed all aspects of it. We will certainly pass on your lovely comments to Avril and the team. We sincerely value your constructive feedback also and will be sure to pass this on to the relevant departments. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Fergus O' Donovan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020

Myself and my son stayed for 1 night at this hotel. Staff were very helpful and courteous. I needed to borrow some stationary and the night staff were great. Special mention for Avril in the restaurant who was friendly and attentive and who made us very welcome.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnq598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus O'Donovan, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Dear John,

Many thanks for your lovely review and your valued feedback, We are delighted to hear that you found the staff to be so friendly and will certainly pass on your comments to Avril & the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Fergus O' Donovan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews