We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Joy S

Short break

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 May 2024
We just had a lovely 3 night stay here, our room was comfy, clean & spacious, in the newer side of the hotel. In the leisure centre, the pool, sauna & steam room are nice with a hydrotherapy pool & hot tub. The hotel offers some lovely activities, we did the Yew Point walk, a nice scenic loop walk by the lake & through meadows. The wine & cheese tasting, presented by the very knowledgeable Andrejz, was really enjoyable and the cocktail making class is a fun way to start your Friday night. The food in the restaurant (L'Escale) was delicious & the service was second to none, couldn't recommend it highly enough! The food in the bar was also lovely but the service was poor, on two occasions we waited up to 30 mins to have our orders taken, and the food arrived cold. As it wasn't busy mid-week i think the staff were just inexperienced & it was better over when we visited the weekend. Special mention to Tommy, a great barman. Bay Sports activities are just down the road & a great way to spend a couple of hours in and by the lake. Overall this is a nice, busy hotel, with great amenities & a warm welcome.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hodson Bay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 27 May 2024
Dear Adventurer576305

On behalf of the Hodson Bay Hotel I would like to thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to post such a lovely constructive review following your recent visit to The Hodson Bay Hotel and our renowned Spa.

Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with our food and beverage management team in our Waterfront Brasserie for further review and consideration. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it helps us identify areas for improvement and implement necessary changes to enhance the overall guest experience.

In relation to our location, we are fortunate to have Lough Ree on our doorstep and Yew Point Estate within walking distance creating beautiful natural scenery all around us.

Your lovely observations on your Leisure Centre experience is testament to the wonderful work of our Executive Spa/Leisure Manager Emer and her valued team members. We are constantly striving to enhance our valued guests experience with our range of attractions across our renowned Spa, Leisure Centre and Complimentary Hotel Activities which include cocktail classes, yoga sessions and aqua aerobics. Thank you for taking the time to experience our extensive leisure facilities.

Our Accommodation Manager Tabita and her team were delighted to share in your lovely review, and we are very proud of the wonderful work they deliver to ensure our guest bedrooms are presented to a high standard.

Executive Head Chef James and his team were pleased you enjoyed their extensive range of menus across all our restaurants.

I have shared your kind words with Tommy in our Waterfront bar and he was delighted to play a part in your memorable visit to our hotel.

We will be delighted to welcome you back to enjoy our range of attractions and activities.

Thank you again most sincerely for your time and generous informative review.

James Mannion
Guest Sentiment Manager
Hodson Bay Hotel


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€188
  • Expedia.com
    €189
  • Vio.com
    €168
  • Hotels.com
    €173
5.2 km from Hodson Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€210
Fully refundable
  • Radissonhotels.com
    €210
  • Algotels
    €202
  • Expedia.com
    €210
5.7 km from Hodson Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€220
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    €220
  • Expedia.com
    €220
  • Hotels.com
    €220
6.0 km from Hodson Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€150
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    €150
5.8 km from Hodson Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Bedroom
€240
€150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    €240
  • Agoda.com
    €240
  • Vio.com
    €150
6.2 km from Hodson Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€130
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    €130
  • Priceline
5.9 km from Hodson Bay Hotel
  • Priceline
    €137
  • Vio.com
    €142
  • Algotels
5.7 km from Hodson Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.8 km from Hodson Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
6.0 km from Hodson Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€192
  • Expedia.com
    €205
  • Vio.com
    €169
  • Hotels.com
    €205
0.0 km from Hodson Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Athlone
Reviews (4,007)
Filter reviews
4,008 results
Traveller rating
2,408
799
391
238
172
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,408
799
391
238
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviews l'escale restaurant wine tasting retreat room retreat section kids club leisure centre lake view jacuzzi bath busy hotel bar food family break top class lovely location afternoon tea lough ree spa treatments both nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 4,008 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2024

This was our third visit to this little gem of a hotel . Once again , the loveliest staff . We had a lake view retreat room . The view is just beautiful . The room was relatively spotless , apart from the net curtains , which were in need of a good wash , the outside of the windows needed a clean , and a little extra clean of the mould in the shower would be a good idea . The food in both the breakfast restaurant and main restaurant was as ever exceptional. This wouldn't put us off booking again however, as the whole experience is worth the money . Well done to all staff .

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eils2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hodson Bay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2024

Dear eilis2109


Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your experience at The Hodson Bay Hotel. I was delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were able to experience our extensive range of guest facilities. Our staff pride themselves on their customer service and it is always heartening to hear of the impact it has on our guests’ stay

Please know that your observations on your guest bedroom is instrumental in helping us identify areas for improvement, and we are committed to taking the necessary steps to address your insights.

Our Executive head Chef James and his team were delighted to share in your lovely review, and we are very proud of their culinary skills across all our dining outlets from breakfast to dinner.

We will be delighted to welcome you back to enjoy our range of attractions and activities.
Thank you again most sincerely for your time and generous informative review.

James Mannion
Guest Sentiment Manager
Hodson Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2024 via mobile

Hodson Bay hotel fronts on to Lough Ree so a lake view is a good place to start when booking. The hotel was incredibly busy during our stay and as a result our arrival felt that we were being processed than welcomed. That said all staff were very friendly and accommodating. A large mix of tourists and business travelers. The food quality was very good. Escale restaurant is one where booking is advised. Health club is large but seems to be used by locals too so you will need to book there too

Room tip: Book restaurant and gym
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hodson Bay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2024

Dear Paul S

Thank you ever so much for your constructive feedback and detailed review following your recent stay at The Hodson Bay Hotel. It is so incredibly important for our learning and allows us to improve and enhance the quality of our product and the service we deliver for all our guests.

Our staff pride themselves on their friendliness and it is always heartening to hear of the impact it has on our guests’ stay

In relation to our location overlooking Lough Ree with Yew Point Estate's beautiful woodland walks adjacent to the hotel create beautiful natural scenery all around us.

Our Executive Head Chef James and his team were delighted to share in your lovely review, and we are very proud of the wonderful culinary experience they deliver every day.

On your check-in experience I have shared your feedback with our Front Office team and thank you for your observations.

We greatly appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we would be delighted to welcome you back to enjoy our range of attractions.

Thank you again most sincerely for your time and your generous informative review.
James Mannion
Guest Sentiment Manager
Hodson Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2024 via mobile

A bit of a halfway house in all aspects. Didn’t really feel like a 4 star hotel (more like a 3 star). Our bedroom appeared tired and grubby. The included evening meal was a bit quantity over quality but the breakfast was lovely. Organisation was a bit lacking when it came to dealing with the cases for our coach party.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Normal-for-Norfolk-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hodson Bay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2024

Dear Normal-for-Norfolk-2

Thank you for your feedback, whilst I am so sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent experience, I am grateful to have the opportunity to learn from your feedback as we are committed to continually improving and enhancing our service for our customers.

Please allow me to apologise unreservedly, we will never accept anything other than total satisfaction from all our guests and I am genuinely sorry that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations with us at The Hodson Bay Hotel. I would welcome the opportunity to personally speak to you regarding your stay, I therefore kindly request that you reach out to me on guestmanagement @hodsonbayhotel.com at your convenience.

I hope you can accept my personal apology once again and very much look forward to speaking to you.

Kind Regards
James Mannion
Guest Sentiment manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2024

The staff were well trained, very friendly and attentive. I had requested a quiet room, and not only did I have a quiet room, but also an unexpected upgrade which I really appreciated. As I ate in the bar a manager spoke to guests at each table to check that everything was in order. Prices on the bar menu were reasonable, and the selection was wide. There was no issue with parking, and I was offered help to bring in my luggage.
Towels were large and fluffy, the bed was really comfortable, and the air conditioning kicked in quickly.
The atmosphere in the hotel is very pleasant for a solo traveller.
It wasn't my first time staying at the Hodson Bay Hotel. I hope to return, and I would certainly recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hodson Bay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2024

Dear Dorothy352

Thank you so much for your kind review! I was delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were able to experience our extensive range of guest facilities. Our staff pride themselves on their customer service and it is always heartening to hear of the impact it has on our guests’ stay

Our Accommodation Manager Tabita and her team were delighted to share in your lovely review, and we are very proud of the wonderful work they deliver to ensure our guest bedrooms are presented to a high standard.

Executive Head Chef James and his team were pleased you enjoyed their extensive range of menus across all our restaurants.

We will be delighted to welcome you back to enjoy our range of attractions and activities.
Thank you again most sincerely for your time and generous informative review.

James Mannion
Guest Sentiment Manager
Hodson Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2024

I recently had the pleasure of a short stay in the Hodson Bay - the food was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. Dinner was exceptional - great menu - very well presented - beautifully cooked. Well done to Martin and his team. Room was huge airy and bright, spotless, with great views.
Staff at every interface were amazing - I attended with a group of 20+ and we were all in agreement.
Well done

Aaron

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hodson Bay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2024

Dear F4875PJaaronf

On behalf of the Hodson Bay Hotel I would like to thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to post such a lovely 5 Star Review following your recent visit to The Hodson Bay Hotel and our renowned Spa.

Your lovely observations on your guest room experience is testament to the wonderful work of our Executive Accommodation Manager Tabita and her valued team members.

Executive Head Chef James and his team were delighted to be included in your detailed review and pleased you enjoyed their extensive range of menus across all our restaurants.

We are blessed to have such a hardworking and dedicated team who are incredibly friendly and polite. The entire team will be delighted to hear their efforts were able to make such a great impression.

Aaron thank you again most sincerely for your time and generous informative review.

James Mannion
Guest Sentiment Manager
Hodson Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews