We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Anonymous

Excellent service

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jan 2023
Amazing central bar, right in the centre of Athlone. We had lovely food in the bar, we were also allowed in behind the bar to take a picture of us pretending we were pouring a pint, the staff are extremely friendly especially Leon. He was very polite, he really knew how to do his job, he advertised the cocktail of the month which was absolutely stunning, he helped my grandmother out to the car as she isn’t very capable of doing it herself as she’s hitting the 90 mark.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashling Dudley, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 26 Jan 2023
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Prince of Wales. I was delighted to read that you all had a really enjoyable time with us. I will make sure to pass your kind comments on to Leon and the team and we look forward to welcoming you all back for a return visit in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€138
  • Expedia.com
    €116
  • Hotels.com
    €112
  • Vio.com
    €135
3.8 km from The Prince of Wales Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€250
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €250
  • Algotels
    €168
  • Hotels.com
    €250
0.3 km from The Prince of Wales Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
€160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    €160
  • Agoda.com
    €160
  • eDreams
    €160
0.3 km from The Prince of Wales Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€150
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    €150
0.3 km from The Prince of Wales Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Mill Bar
€130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    €130
  • Agoda.com
    €130
4.8 km from The Prince of Wales Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€348
  • Expedia.com
    €348
  • Agoda.com
    €327
  • Hotels.com
    €343
6.6 km from The Prince of Wales Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
€130
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    €130
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Prince of Wales Hotel
€450
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    €450
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
    €450
5.8 km from The Prince of Wales Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €136
  • Booking.com
    €140
0.3 km from The Prince of Wales Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    €120
  • Agoda.com
    €102
  • Hotels.com
    €125
6.0 km from The Prince of Wales Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Athlone
Reviews (1,345)
Filter reviews
1,345 results
Traveller rating
781
356
103
47
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
781
356
103
47
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hen party central location centre of town lovely hotel rooms were spotless bar staff next morning bar food great night saturday night would highly recommend this hotel last weekend breakfast was excellent stayed here for one night enjoyable stay could not fault bar area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,345 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2022 via mobile

Called for bar food on the 28th and after 40minutes of waiting we asked a member of staff about our order, she couldn't have been less interested if she tried. It was a chicken burger and club sandwich so I thought after 40minutes we were justified in asking about the delay. Two minutes later the kids food came out, they barely touched it and our kids are not picky. The staff member just landed down the plates no explanation or apology and then walked away, we had to call her back to request ketchup, she never spoke a word to us all the while. Not rude as such just seemed she had no interest whatsoever in being there. A few minutes later, she landed our food down and at that exact same time, another member of staff walked by and asked if everything was OK, timing was terrible no one came near us all the while we were waiting then before we had a chance to eat we were asked about our meal! The food was not great at all, not sure how you can get a club sandwich wrong but it was not nice, very bland and the chips were horrible.
It seemed there were a lot of staff working but from observations they had no interest in customer service.
All in all we were massively disappointed in our visit and won't be going back anytime soon

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank trelohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashling Dudley, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Prince of Wales Hotel and apologies that your time with us was so disappointing. When you have a moment could you contact our Bar Manager, Mark, on barmanager@theprinceofwales.ie with some more details (rough time of your visit, dishes that were ordered etc) as this will allow him to fully follow-up on this very disappointing but helpful feedback. We really do appreciate all feedback that we receive, both positive and negative, and they to grow and improve from it all so thank you once again for bringing these issues to our attention.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Prince of Wales Hotel in the future.

Wishing you a Happy New Year,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2022 via mobile

Booked to stay in this waste of time hotel in December, but instead got an email to say that the booking had been cancelled out of the blue. No reasoning (but no doubt looking after non nationalists ) rang but kept getting put on to an answering machine. KIP

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashling Dudley, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2022

Dear Shane,

Apologies that your booking with this "kip" was cancelled but a decision was made to close our bedrooms for the winter season.

Regards,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2022

Loved the Prince of Wales Hotel. Central location, free parking, great food. You can’t go wrong! We will be back…sooner rather than later. The ambience was great. I can’t say enough good things about this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 68Robyn2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashling Dudley, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2022

Dear Robyn,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. I was delighted to read that your time with us was most enjoyable and I will make sure to pass your kind comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back when the hotel reopens in Spring 2023.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2022

Excellent 2 night break in this friendly hotel in the centre of Athlone. Great service and brilliant staff from check in to waitresses and bar staff. Good food and great value from breakfast to dinner. Tea and scones on arrival lovely touch. Have stayed many times and will continue to return.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 647rosemaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashling Dudley, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to read that your time with us was most enjoyable and I will make sure to pass your kind comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit when the hotel re-opens in Spring 2023.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2022

Same as the previous reviewer. We booked a weekend for this December a month ago via Booking.com. They sent an email with no reason yesterday to say it was cancelled. No reason given. We are attending a wedding in the area and now the only alternative accommodation we can find is approx 150€ more expensive. Would never trust this hotel again.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lmlejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashling Dudley, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2022

Dear Imlejl,


We have unfortunately made the very difficult decision to close the hotel side of our business for the Winter months because it just became unfeasible to operate. This was not a decision that was taken lightly and we apologize for any inconvenience caused
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to The Prince of Wales Hotel when we reopen in the Spring/Summer season.

Kind regards,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews