We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,135)
Filter reviews
1,135 results
Traveller rating
636
313
95
44
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
636
313
95
44
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central location shopping centre lovely hotel next morning bar staff rooms were spotless visiting athlone bar food hotel bar both nights great night would highly recommend this hotel food was lovely enjoyable stay a lovely stay one night stay could not fault
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,135 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2020

As always when I stay at the Prince of Wales Athlone the staff are away friendly and helpful. Megan is a great receptionist and Connor the night porter is always helpful and will always take the time to have a quick chat. Hope to be back before the Christmas.

Date of stay: December 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank krhygiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashling Dudley, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2020

Dear krhygiene,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. I was delighted to read that your time with us was most enjoyable and I will make sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the near future.

Wishing you a very merry Christmas,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2020

Really lovely hotel. Clean and everything one would want. The food in the restaurant left a lot to be desired but was made up for with a nice pint. Cold calamari and penne arrabiata was sparse of chicken with sauce that was too think. The entire stay was excellent value for money. Will stay again but eat elsewhere.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joemannion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashling Dudley, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2020

Dear joemannion,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. I was delighted to read that overall your time with us was most enjoyable and I will make sure to pass your helpful feedback regarding your meal on to our kitchen. We appreciate all feedback that we receive as it is a great way for us to continue to grow and improve as a business.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2020

Staff excellent very friendly rooms were spotless and spacious. Food was great a lot of variety. This hotel is very well situated near all the shops and great to have the carpark just outside the door easy access.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bernieoconnor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashling Dudley, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

Dear bernieoconnor22,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. I was delighted to read that your time with us was most enjoyable and that our team looked after you so well.

We look forward to welcoming back for a return visit in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020 via mobile

It was our second time to stay here , all I can say is that it was top class. Outstanding value, absolutely spotlessly clean , very friendly and helpful staff, could not have done anything more to make us feel welcome, delicious food in the bar area . We felt very safe here during our visit with the safety measures in place during covid . I dont write reviews usually, but this Hotel and staff are just Great !

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank martina102015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashling Dudley, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

Dear martina102015,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. It is always great to hear from returning guests and I'm delighted that this visit was just as enjoyable as the previous one. I will make sure to pass your kind comments on to the whole team and we look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay in the future.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2020

Excellent food wonderful friendly helpful staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again myself. Aisling in reception was amazing. Rooms basic but very clean. Central location super close to all shops.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank odilla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashling Dudley, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Dear odilla2013,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Prince of Wales Hotel. I was delighted to read that your time with us was so enjoyable and I will make sure to pass your kind comments on to Aisling and the team. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews