We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prince of Wales Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed with my girlfriend for a week end. Found the hotel to be very comfortable. The room was spotless. We ate in the prince bar. Food was very good & very reasonable. The hotel is very central so we were able to go around the town. Plenty of things to do & plenty of good bars. Went to karma nite club one nite. It was buzzin. Overall a great place for a get away week end

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobrien29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review of the Prince of Wales Hotel.

We were delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay and even made Karma.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales and the Midlands on your next trip.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    222
    74
    26
    32
See reviews for
88
289
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Meath
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was our third time to stay in the hotel and we were delighted to be remembered as previous guests. Each time the hotel was lovely and clean and staff were very friendly. Handy location and good parking. I'm sure we will return again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank culinaryartsstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Prince of Wales Hotel and for your lovely review.

I was thrilled to read your comments, we try our best to run a small intimate family-run hotel so it was great to see that the team recognised you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Nice hotel in a good central location. friendly receptionist, food good in bar, room on the small side with a view of skips and fighting cats but didnt mind as my brothers room was in front of hotel over nightclub so they didnt get much sleep!! ..lift needs serious makeover for 4 star standards, grubby and more like a service lift..all in all its fine for a one night stopover /if you get a good rate but doubt i would stay for a few relaxing nights away

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThetravellerKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

Im sorry to read that your brother did not get much sleep. If back in Athlone please make sure to contact me so that I can ensure that you get a nice quiet room with better scenery that the cats. In relation to our lift we replace the carpet every 2/3 months but unfortunately it is quiet a small lift with a large volume of traffic so it is extremely hard to keep in top condition.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Athlone and the Prince of Wales in the future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Brilliant hotel. Clean and comfy with all the right trimmings. We arrived at 1.30am due to a delayed flight and they everything ready for us. Definitely value for money.

Just a note: If you have a car in the carpark, make sure you get the code to get out before you leave reception.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyoso896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & Athlone soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cavan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here before , always a lovely place , from convenient car parking , friendly staff , good service .This time was great , beautiful room , lovely clean hotel , staff friendly and courtous , good value for money , centre of town , good carparking , what more could u ask for ,, excellent

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We were delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in every aspect. We strive to offer a friendly homely well run hotel and take all comments on board positive & negative.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & the Midlands.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.8 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
5.6 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
3.5 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing