We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Brilliant hotel. Clean and comfy with all the right trimmings. We arrived at 1.30am due to a delayed flight and they everything ready for us. Definitely value for money.

Just a note: If you have a car in the carpark, make sure you get the code to get out before you leave reception.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyoso896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & Athlone soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

686 - 690 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here before , always a lovely place , from convenient car parking , friendly staff , good service .This time was great , beautiful room , lovely clean hotel , staff friendly and courtous , good value for money , centre of town , good carparking , what more could u ask for ,, excellent

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We were delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in every aspect. We strive to offer a friendly homely well run hotel and take all comments on board positive & negative.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & the Midlands.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel for nights while doing some work in Athlone found the stay very nice, clean and the food was great. Only one issue there was a lot of noise in the corridor outside my room on the last night which the hotel staff seemed to ignore, but if you have to stay in Athlone this is the place must be a really beautiful place in the summer months

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandalisonlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to your stay. I have also asked the night porter to carry our more floor walks to monitor noise. Athlone and the Prince of Wales are beautiful like most of Ireland when we have a "rare" bit of sunshine.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful towards us, the service was excellent and the rooms beautiful. We were here for a few weeks with work and the staff done everything possible to make us feel at home!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leannequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Leanne,

Many thanks for your lovely kind review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed stay, it was a pleasure having you and your colleagues with us. If Dealz ever open a second outlet in Athlone don't forget to pay us a visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Athlone and the Prince of Wales.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stopped in this hotel for over a month with work and it is by far the best hotel i have ever stopped at. the team there were really friendly and accomodating and the restaraunt food is second to none. also, the location of the hotel is right in the town centre

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jleonard89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.

We were delighted to see that you and your colleagues enjoyed your stay. I appreciate it is not nice staying in a hotel for a full month, but we tried our best to make you feel at home and the whole group were a pleasure to deal with.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales and Athlone in the future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,026 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
6 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,242 reviews
5.7 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: €50 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing