We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Brilliant hotel. Clean and comfy with all the right trimmings. We arrived at 1.30am due to a delayed flight and they everything ready for us. Definitely value for money.

Just a note: If you have a car in the carpark, make sure you get the code to get out before you leave reception.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyoso896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & Athlone soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    224
    74
    26
    32
See reviews for
90
293
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cavan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here before , always a lovely place , from convenient car parking , friendly staff , good service .This time was great , beautiful room , lovely clean hotel , staff friendly and courtous , good value for money , centre of town , good carparking , what more could u ask for ,, excellent

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We were delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in every aspect. We strive to offer a friendly homely well run hotel and take all comments on board positive & negative.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & the Midlands.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel for nights while doing some work in Athlone found the stay very nice, clean and the food was great. Only one issue there was a lot of noise in the corridor outside my room on the last night which the hotel staff seemed to ignore, but if you have to stay in Athlone this is the place must be a really beautiful place in the summer months

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandalisonlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to your stay. I have also asked the night porter to carry our more floor walks to monitor noise. Athlone and the Prince of Wales are beautiful like most of Ireland when we have a "rare" bit of sunshine.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful towards us, the service was excellent and the rooms beautiful. We were here for a few weeks with work and the staff done everything possible to make us feel at home!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leannequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Leanne,

Many thanks for your lovely kind review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed stay, it was a pleasure having you and your colleagues with us. If Dealz ever open a second outlet in Athlone don't forget to pay us a visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Athlone and the Prince of Wales.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stopped in this hotel for over a month with work and it is by far the best hotel i have ever stopped at. the team there were really friendly and accomodating and the restaraunt food is second to none. also, the location of the hotel is right in the town centre

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jleonard89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.

We were delighted to see that you and your colleagues enjoyed your stay. I appreciate it is not nice staying in a hotel for a full month, but we tried our best to make you feel at home and the whole group were a pleasure to deal with.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales and Athlone in the future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.8 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
3.4 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
5.7 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing