We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real hearty Italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IL Colosseo Italian Restaurant

IL Colosseo Italian Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 97 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Real hearty Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is real old style Italian food. Good service and a very friendly atmosphere.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sinbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    70
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Didn't enjoy the food.
I have had much nicer Italian food.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank msmcgoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Value - Very Family Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

This is a gem for a casual meal with a young family in the early evening, then as a couple or with the girls later at night! The menu is large and varied (but we tend to stick to our favourites!). Food is very good quality and generous portion sizes (share the Brie starter if you want to finish your mains). It has an open kitchen which I love and the staff are very friendly (and good with kids - colouring, crayons etc).
The MACs

Helpful?
Thank DMacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offaly
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Venue, lovely staff, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

When you enter you will be pleasently surprised given its location (Over a pub). This will be further complimented with the friendly staff and extensive menu you are presented with. The restaurant itself if warm and comfortable and the food is simple, wholesome and good value. Give it a try, its worth it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GerardKOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking forward to returning on a night without little monsters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We followed trip advisor for somewhere to eat close to where we were staying in Athlone and soon thought we were lost! We were starting to stray a bit far from the main streets and my trusty smartphone map was in danger of leading me astray, but sure enough, not far from the Radisson hotel, there it was over a pub, and as another reviewer said, don't be fooled by how it looks outside!
On the sign outside is said all mains were 10 euro and it was BYOW too, so we popped next door to the "next door" off license to get a bottle of wine. They had no fridge working so the wine was warm, but the restaurant were happy to provide ice to cool it for us.
The restaurant itself was warm and pleasing to the eye, and our pizza's were very tasty. We felt that the service was through a forced smile, but we had no problem as she was attentive and quick with our order.
The only downside on the night was that they had let in a teenage trick or treat-er to go from table to table with a jar of money looking for donations!
We're still not sure if we were annoyed that they let the girl in to pester the customers, or the fact that the "costume" of the opportunist teenager consisted of only a 1 euro plastic kiddie monster face mask! We got the feeling that the jar of coins was going "next door"...
Excellent value, very nice food and comfortable surroundings, so we'll definately be back in the future.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed IL Colosseo Italian Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to IL Colosseo Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing