We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind Gesture”

Kin Khao Thai Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 103 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Thai cuisine, local style. That's local Thai not dumbed down Western style. Our great food, service and local beers and wines are waiting for you. Looking forward to seeing you.
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

I had previously left a review about bad service in Kin Khao. I received a very apologetic email from the owner who sent me a generous voucher by way of apology. Many thanks for your understanding and generosity.

1  Thank Laurz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
There are newer reviews for Kin Khao Thai Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Read all the reviews and decided to go - tables very close together lacks ambiance which i would class as key in an excellent Thai setting.Food not bad

Thank Edelpauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ourlittlefamille, Owner at Kin Khao Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi Edel

Thanks for the comments and also for coming into us Edel. I have to say I've never had a comment that the tables are too close and absolutely never ever had we had comments on the ambiance. If anything the feed back is that the ambiance is great. That said you are the customer and it was your experience that matters.

Our tables are actually the largest tables around. The reason i know this is that when we were getting them made in Thailand we got the wrong dimensions:( So larger than usual tables arrived in Athlone:) The next time you are in a restaurant take a look at the size and number of tables squeezed into a space and you might see that in fact Kin Khao offer alot of space to its patrons.

Busy nights in a restaurants are busy nights. A full house creates ambiance. There is really nothing else I can add to this.

Regarding the food - not bad?? You really don't give me much to go on here so i cannot comment. Suffice to say that "not bad" is not what 99% of the reviews say about our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

All I can say I'd wow. Recommend by a friend as one of the top restaurants in Athlone, can definitely see why. Food is exciting and tasty. Staff very knowledgeable.

Thank Eibhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ourlittlefamille, Owner at Kin Khao Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hi Eibhs and WOW back at ye:) Thanks alot for dining with us and for the great review. Pass the word. We are lucky with our wonderful staff and of course Thai food is the best cuisine ever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

On inquiring about a table booking for that night for two we were told that there was no need -just come with an empty stomach and a full wallet.So on arrival at 9 pm - we were then told there was no table available at all !!!! However a gentleman who to appeared to be a floor restaurant manager interjected and he said he would sort us.We got a table thanks to him
Menu -food -stunning.I will say no more about this.Pricewise it is mid range and have no complaints about it or the service during our meal.

Thank IRISHMAN17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ourlittlefamille, Owner at Kin Khao Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hello irishman thanks so much for the lovely review. I do hope your stomach was full and your wallet alittle lighter when you were finished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

A visit for my wife's 40th- staff very accommodating and the food was some of the best I have had- my wife's Thai green was the best I have ever had and the Lao curry I had was punchy yet tasty. Nice fresh decor too. It was my wife's birthday and they noticed this from the booking and gave here a free pudding selection with candle! We will return when in Athlone!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ourlittlefamille, Owner at Kin Khao Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Mark we were delighted to look after you and your wife on the night. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kin Khao Thai Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Kin Khao Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing