We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”

Viking Ship Cruises
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come back 1,200 years and join the Vikings on a replica Viking Ship. Cruise up the River Shannon to Lough Ree (1hr 15min) or down river to the monastic settlement and round tower of Clonmacnoise (1hr 30min one way). Experience the religous and Viking history attached to this area. Hear live commentry on Viking hoardes, on the beauty of the river, its flora, fauna, bird and fish life. Fun and excitement for all the family...Departs from Athlone Castle and tickets are available on board.
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Mike was very helpful to us on the day. We had preplanned the trip and we went as a group. We were really looking forward to it. It didn't disappoint. The weather was good and we enjoyed being up at the front of the ship taking in the scenery and the local history. Great trip.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank KathrionaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boat trip"
in 52 reviews
"great trip"
in 36 reviews
"the river"
in 106 reviews
"tea and coffee"
in 23 reviews
"the hodson bay hotel"
in 31 reviews
"lough ree"
in 30 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 14 reviews
"thanks mike"
in 9 reviews
"informative talk"
in 7 reviews
"running commentary"
in 7 reviews
"lovely cruise"
in 6 reviews
"enjoyable trip"
in 11 reviews
"great commentary"
in 7 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 9 reviews
"monastic site"
in 6 reviews
"local history"
in 18 reviews
"great value for money"
in 11 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2018

We really enjoyed this boat trip. there were 10 of us in a family group.Viking Mike and his crew are very knowledgeable about the area and we learnt a lot on the trip. lovely complimentary coffee and a tuck shop on board. blankets are provided if its chilly and it can get a bit chilly if you are sitting outside on the boat. Next time we will get the boat from the Hodson bay and spend some time in Athlone and return on the later sailing.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Murf3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We had a lovely day on the Viking Cruise, Viking Mike and George was so nice & friendly they went out of their way for us and we really appreciated it. Defiantly would recommend this cruise to any one, there was 25 of us ranging from 20 - 80 yrs old and every one of us had a great time!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank lisad1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We had a great morning on the Viking cruise. Youngest 8 oldest 37 and we loved it. Weather was lovely and the boys thoroughly enjoyed it. Highly recommend for something a wee bit different

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank L9538OTclairem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Our captain was very well versed in the waterways, historic points, wild life and fish of the area
Very comfortable as they provided blankets
Choose a warm day if you can or be sure to bundle up as the wind picks up a bit

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank KINGKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viking Ship Cruises also viewed

 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Viking Ship Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing