We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Andrewsherlock
Dublin, Ireland

Great Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks agovia mobile
Fantastic Hotel right in the middle of the centre. Came with about 45 Lads on a 2night DBB getaway..Food In restaurant was fantastic on both evenings. Mary on the front desk was very professional and had all the right answers for anyone. Will definitely be back. Leisure Centre was amazing
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrett McGuinness, Other at Sheraton Athlone Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Andrewsherlock,

Thank you for taking the time to share your five star review and delighted to read of your groups enjoyable stay with us.

I will be sure to share your special mentions with each department and your recognition also of Marie's excellent guest care.

Great you plan to return in the future, when we look forward to delivering another memorable stay.

Kind regards,
Garrett McGuinness
Managing Director


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€115
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €115
  • Algotels
    €111
  • Radissonhotels.com
0.4 km from Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€165
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €175
  • Agoda.com
    €150
  • Hotels.com
    €175
6.0 km from Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
€160
€90
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    €160
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€113
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €119
  • Agoda.com
    €112
  • Hotels.com
    €119
1.0 km from Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
€100
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    €100
0.6 km from Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€298
  • Expedia.com
    €299
  • Agoda.com
    €261
  • Hotels.com
    €266
6.4 km from Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
€130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    €130
0.2 km from Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    €122
  • Hotels.com
    €124
4.1 km from Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
  • StayForLong
0.3 km from Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    €505
  • Booking.com
5.6 km from Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Athlone
Reviews (3,220)
Filter reviews
3,220 results
Traveller rating
2,121
700
237
99
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,121
700
237
99
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping centre harvest cafe club room la provence restaurant tower room floor to ceiling windows lovely hotel central location top class hotel bar spa treatments would highly recommend this hotel from start to finish stayed here for one night last weekend bar food lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 3,220 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went in for a nightcap at the hotel bar and were greeted with a very pleasant and friendly waiter Dylan and then an equally pleasant and friendly bartender Sean. The atmosphere was so perfect and we were having such a great chat with Sean about our visit and our preferred drink of choice. Sean made a cocktail for me that was not on the menu because I requested something different. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and ended up having a couple of drinks because the coming was so good!

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marybI7719OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrett McGuinness, Other at Sheraton Athlone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear marybI7719OB,

Thank you for the lovely feedback.

Our S Bar & Bistro team do a super job in looking after our guests and providing the best in service and of course memorable cocktails.

The team have recently revised the cocktail menu, which is proving very popular.

I will be sure to share your recognition directly with Sean and Dylan.

Kind regards,
Garrett McGuinness
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We would highly recommend this hotel.the staff couldn't do enough for us including receptionists and a special mention to Staff member Katie who organised the group bookings for us.food was excellent and entertainment was thoroughly enjoyable.
Kind regards
Ann and Noel Shields and friends

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Scenic59633085360
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrett McGuinness, Other at Sheraton Athlone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day Scenic59633085360,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and for choosing the Sheraton Athlone Hotel for your recent group leisure stay with us.

I will be sure to share your kind words with Katie, who does a superb job in ensuring all details of our guests stay is planned with the utmost of care.

The team will be delighted with the feedback, all of which provides a real source of recognition for their continuous passion and dedication to delivering excellence in guest care.

Kind regards,
Garrett McGuinness
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a last minute break away to the Sheraton and it was very enjoyable. We were warmly welcomed to the hotel, very nice receptionist who also booked dinner for us and allowed us to check-in early. Hotel is very central, built with access to the shopping centre. Very spacious and relaxing King Room. We enjoyed lunch in the Harvest Cafe downstairs. We wandered around Athlone and soaked up the atmosphere and enjoyed the sunshine. The Spa was compact, bring your swimming cap!. The jacuzzi was cold so unappealing but the pool water, sauna and steam room were relaxing. For dinner we dined in the main restaurant, for starters we enjoyed Spring Rolls and Prawns, both very tasty. We were bearly finished our bread, when our starters arrived. The waitress (who we presumed was new) asked us when we would like our main course - that was a first!. My husband's steak was cooked perfectly (medium rare), however my Chicken Supreme felt reheated and small, I had more potato than chicken. They served vegetables when we ordered French Fries, but overall an enjoyable meal. There were two hen parties so the restaurant was very lively and atmospheric. We didn't have room for desserts and just enjoyed some coffees. The breakfast is amazing, the best offering anywhere, a wonderful experience to set us up for the day. Overall, it was a nice relaxing break and we hope to return.

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinseltoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrett McGuinness, Other at Sheraton Athlone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day tinseltoes,

Thank you for providing such comprehensive feedback which is of real value to us.

Always positive to learn of our guest's enjoyable insights, which I will be sure to relay back to the relevant teams.

However, of most benefit is the constructive insights that provide details where our standards of excellence were not delivered.

I will be reviewing each of these areas and together with the various heads of department, we will be addressing in full where possible.

Delighted to read of your plan to return in the future, when we look forward to delivering a positive experience in all aspects of the property and offering.

Kind regards,
Garrett McGuinness
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel - bar food very tasty and hot.. great choice
Lovely chatty young bar man called Dylan - Very Pleasant Young Man
Keep up the good work ...... always a pleasure to visit this Hotel
Very Clean and Welcoming with friendly staff in all areas

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrett McGuinness, Other at Sheraton Athlone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day Sheebacostello,

Many thanks for sharing your five star review.

Our S Bar and Bistro is extremely popular with both hotel and local guests. The S Bar team do a super job in providing great guest care and of course making fantastic cocktails to meet all tastes.

We are fortunate to have a fantastic team, with Dylan providing a stand out example of the genuine friendly and professional approach they take to look after each guest.

Kind regards,
Garrett McGuinness
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2024

Lovely hotel with helpful pleasant staff placed centrally and easily accessible to pubs ,restaurants and the river. Excellent breakfast. Parking is in the hotel section of the carpark attached. Take a ticket on entry and have it validated by the hotel on leaving.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank los_luggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrett McGuinness, Other at Sheraton Athlone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day los_luggage,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Athlone Hotel and delighted to read of your enjoyable experience with us.

The central property location in Athlone, makes it the perfect location for exploring all that Athlone and indeed the surrounding areas have to offer.

The breakfast team are especially pleased with the strong feedback on your breakfast experience.

Kind regards,
Garrett McGuinness
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews