We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Athlone
Nearby Hotels
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodson Bay Hotel(Athlone)
US$205
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Grand Hotel(Moate)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,059)
Filter reviews
2,059 results
Traveller rating
1,278
533
164
52
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,278
533
164
52
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping centreharvest cafetower roomsla provence restaurantdeluxe roomfloor to ceiling windowslovely hotelhotel barcentral locationleisure facilitiestop classbar foodstayed here for two nightslovely roomwould highly recommend this hotelspa treatmentslast weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 2,059 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Sheraton on recommendation from a tour company. Everybody at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and had a great view. The location was great. However, the hotel is in the middle of a shopping mall. If you are driving, you will park in the garage. You then need to take an elevator to the ground level. Get off that elevator and get on a different elevator to the second level. Get off, walk down a long corridor and get on yet another elevator to get to whichever floor your room is on. I would not choose to stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TiffanyP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear Tiffany P15,

Thank you for your review and the positive feedback regarding your wonderful accommodation and the great care our team extended to you and your group.

While there is an element of various lifts, these lend the property to be able to offer some of the best hotel guestrooms to be found anywhere. Elevator access to our 11 floor Sheraton Tower, ensures that all Adult Only Tower Deluxe guestrooms enjoy some of the most fantastic views, stretching over Athlone Town, River Shannon, Lough Ree and our five neighbouring counties.

Many thanks for your valued feedback and should you be persuaded to stay with us in the future, feel free to make contact with me directly, so I may extend to you one of our Tower Deluxe guestrooms.

Yours sincerely,
Garrett McGuinness
General Manager
generalmanager@sheratonathlonehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stayed here for a weekend for a conference which included family. Booked a family size room which was so spacious and slept 5 of us very comfortably. (Kids age 12,6,3).
The food was excellent all throughout our stay, breakfast, lunch and our gala dinner.
The leisure centre was so family friendly.
Would highly recommend

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Fitzi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Fitzi17,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback and it is always gratifying to learn of a guest's positive experience with us at the Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

The property is perfectly placed for conferences and events of all sizes, given both its excellent central location in the heart of the country and the fantastic meeting and events facilities; top of the list being the Sheraton Meeting & Events team.

The kitchen team are delighted with the special mention regarding the high standard of all of your dining experiences, as they set high standards to be consistently achieved.

Thank you again for the much appreciated insights and I look forward to welcoming you back, be it on leisure or business.

Kind regards,
Garrett McGuinness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

After previous visits to the Sheraton in Athlone, which were disappinting because of recurring (false) fire alarms which lasted for hours, this was another case of a disappointing stay. After a long working day, i had to order room service, because the restaurant and bar was closed for dinner (22hr45). So i ordered croque monsieur and soup, which took them >half hour instead of the promised max 15 minutes. Despite the fact that they realise that warm food is preferred, (the plates are extremely hot during BREAKFAST, so that they present a warning for the customers, thats ok!) the plate for the croque was as cold as ice, and so was the croque. Even more disappointing, and unprofessional, was the fact that i got no spoon for the soup...! Eating soup with knife and fork? Waiting another ??minutes? Perhaps better to write this report with a warning not to forget it next time, and drink the soup from the bowl? Sure, nobody is watching, the curtains are closed..! Good night to you all.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Eddy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Eddy V,

Thank you for your feedback, but concerning to learn of your below par guest experience with special reference to the room service standards.

I can assure you your feedback has being reviewed and discussed in detail with all responsible and collectively we have taken the required actions, with special emphasis on increasing training practices on our room service processes.

I can appreciate your frustration with the issues experienced and should you be staying with us in the future, please make contact with me directly at the below email address.

My apologies for the issues experienced and I hope to hear from you sometime in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Garrett McGuinness
General Manager
generalmanager@sheratonathlonehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and myself spent last weekend at the Sheraton and had a fab weekend.
We stayed in the tower and couldn’t fault the room, massive soft bed that you just didn’t want to get out of!
Staff were absolutely superb, very very friendly and so helpful .
The restaurant had lovely food and couldn’t be faulted, would like a bigger menu.
All in all we had a lovely stay at the Sheraton.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Paul C,

Many thanks for the fantastic review and great to learn of your memorable stay with us at the Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Executive Chef Eoin and the kitchen team are delighted that you enjoyed the flavoursome and well executed dishes of La Provence restaurant and they look forward also to introducing some exciting new dishes on the upcoming revised menu.

Always fantastic to learn the that the team extended their customary warm and professional guest service, delivered with real passion and excellence.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I look forward to your return with us.

Kind regards,
Garrett McGuinness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

I love a big king size bed with thick big pillows and this hotel had that, I slept like a baby, nice and comfy , breakfast was nice and filling, reception were very helpful and staff overall very friendly, not crazy about the residents bar, easy to find and easy to abscess but awkward to exit by car park

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skinner b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear skinner b,

Many thanks for your positive feedback and indeed for choosing to stay with us at the Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Delighted you enjoyed a great nights rest on our Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience beds, a unique offering to all Sheraton properties worldwide and one of the many reasons why the property has built such a large volume of return clientele over the years.

Thank you also for your constructive feedback regarding our residents bar, but we have exciting renovation & refurbishment plans for both our full ground floor & Sheraton Bar, which are currently being finalised, following which works will be completed early 2018.

Looking forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards,
Garrett McGuinness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews