We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We were on our first coach trip and had read the previous reviews but were willing to go with it and see for ourselves. What we found was a lovely quirky hotel, extremely clean and well kept. The bedroom was sparkling with lovely linen and made up each day. We didn't have a "view" but not everyone can. It was a big bathroom, and if there is a complaint, it would be that it's difficult to turn on the shower without getting wet because of the glass shower screen. The multi national staff were all delightful, courteous and efficient. The food was really good, there was nothing that we found to complain about or that we wouldn't have eaten. We had a really lovely stay at The Imperial and would most certainly go back. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Take pot like, what's the point in worrying about it, you'll be sleeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maggi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S, Front Office Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Maggi
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Imperial Hotel Lisdoonvarna.
Kind regards,
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We booked in with a travel group after being rebooked for this hotel.
It clearly was a downgrade, overall the hotel is cute and has old Charme but the bathroom was a bit too old...the rooms had been refurbished to a more modern standard and were okay.
Problem was the front desk personal they were quiet unfriendly, the wait staff was really friendly tho.
Good for German tourists tho because some of the staff spoke German and the tv had german channels as well...
It was okay for one night but the food wasn't good either...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anji T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S, Front Office Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Anji
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is very important to us. The matter brought to our attention has been dealt with. Please accept our appology for any inconveniences caused. The staff is always happy to help with anything.
Kind regards,
Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Well I've just took a group from Scotland to this hotel,first of all after a long journey we were met with open arms and a friendly welcome,the whole staff from reception to dining,and housekeeping are fantastic,what a polite and efficient bunch of kids they are,nothing to much trouble,ask they deliver,reception spot on.me personally declined a room without window and was resolved without a problem,hotel is spotless,great rooms,all my pax lived there stay,only complaint I got was bar prices,but get that any hotel,mr owner,your staff do you pride

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S, Front Office Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear John
Thank you very much for your feedback. Hopefully we will see you again before the season is over in October.
Kind Regards,
Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

I stayed here recently with my wife and can only say how disappointed I was with our stay. The reception staff were very curt and unfriendly and we regret not deciding to leave after our check in, but we were put off from doing so as we were wary of the inevitable cancellation fees. Do not be put off by the attractive tiled lobby as our bedroom was not up to the same standard. We did not venture into the restaurant for dinner as it appeared to be very busy with coach tours but we did go in for breakfast as it was included in our rate. We should probably not have done this as it just led to more disappointment. Our waiter did not appear to understand basic english and when we did eventually receive a version of what we had ordered, it was both over-cooked and cold. I can only say that he had a friendly smile. When we are back for the festival in September we will probably stay at one of the other hotels on the main street.

Room Tip: I can no think of anything but be wary that the carparking can be a bit of walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank padraigharring2n2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Padraig
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay. I am very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay. I would like to apologize for all the inconvenience caused. The issues brought to my attention have been dealt with. Hopefully I can convince you to give us another chance and see the improvements we have made.
Yours faithfully,
Geraldine W.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Imperial Hotel in Lisdoonvarna. The staff was efficient, friendly, and very helpful. Our room was large, airy and very comfortably furnished. Besides wonderful beds, there was a hair dryer and tea and coffee maker. Dinners and breakfasts in their dining room were excellent as well with an international wait staff. Book now for a relaxing stay at a great hotel in the lovely town of Lisdoonvarna.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladinenfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S, Front Office Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is very much appreciated. We would be extremly happy to welcome you again at the Imperial Hotel Lisdoonvarna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisdoonvarna hotels
0.2 km away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
271 reviews
1.8 km away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
181 reviews
0 km away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
King Thomond Hotel
King Thomond Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
22 reviews
0.1 km away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
317 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Spa Hotel
Royal Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: The Imperial Hotel Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: €145 - €302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna, just a 10-minute drive from the Cliffs of Moher. It offers en suite bedrooms, a restaurant and a bar with live music most nights. Bedrooms at the Imperial feature satellite TVs, hair-dryers and telephones. Tea and coffee making facilities are also available and there is free Wi-Fi in public areas of the hotel. The restaurant offers international cuisine and traditional Irish breakfasts are served daily. There is a large lobby area which is adjoined by a sunny conservatory. The Burren National Park is a 15-minute drive and there are several golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing