We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
120
105
43
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
105
43
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews too good to be true luxury accommodation large bus hotel caters security staff interesting life dining room rooms were spotless hotel is situated the hotel manager other hotels good size staff were so friendly old world bacon cabbage irish music great atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Hi was up at weekend .what a hotel with live music and injected with happiness! Met4 students in total girl from Austeria & boy from spain the nicest 2 i came across the girl went to the kitchen for rolls such a great pair. Also met 2 other students girl& boy from austeria such a pleasure .. i wish them all well

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hydro2017, Receptionist at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Teresa,
Thank you for sharing your visitor experience on TripAdvisor. We are trilled to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the Matchmaking festival at our hotel. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff - I will pass on your compliments. We wish you well too and hope to welcome you at our hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Aksana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Its a decent enough hotel. Our room was large, fine bed, laminated floor, ok bathroom. A problem was the kitchen fan duct was noisy during the night but most hotels will have this problem if you are in a certain part. If you want to avoid, choose a B&B, which I will do the next time. The breakfast was OK but the dinner was of poor quality. The next night we ate at a competitors and found that to be worse. Maybe its just Clare!
Drinks in the bar were 5€ but I suppose it was the festival.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back where there is a noisy fan
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank corkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hydro2017, Receptionist at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear corkies,
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your honest feedback. We hope that you enjoyed the festival atmosphere.
Kind regards,
Aksana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We had stayed here 3years previously and were happy but this time the rooms were ok the bar was just ok but smelly . The problem was the staff and food in the dining room vey below 2 star standards , the staff did not speak and food was very poor shame for this hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank 747Andy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hydro2017, Receptionist at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear 747Andy1962,
Thank you for taking the time to share your visitor experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and take all the comments on board. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not up to standard. We wished you mentioned it sooner, so we could turn your experience around. We hope to have this opportunity in future.
Kind regards,
Aksana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Great trip to Lisdoonvarna. The Hydro is a lovely place. Great atmosphere and it caters to a diverse audience. There was a large bus tour of German tourists during our visit. There was a good energy in the place at meal times.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank vince s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hydro2017, Receptionist at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear vince s,
Sincere thank you for your positive feedback. We work very hard to ensure that each and every stay is memorable and enjoyable. We appreciate your lovely comments and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Aksana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely building with spacious rooms and bathrooms, perfectly comfy beds, everything clean and fresh - but no wifi in rooms and iffy wifi in lobby. Breakfast disappointing as chef refused to do eggy bread for child and despite giving notice of vegans in party (which was acknowledged by staff) there was only an offer of porridge after plenty of fruit and toast with jam had been eaten. No non dairy milk or butter... for a hotel that size not to be able to keep vegan sausages in a freezer (they told us they had gluten free !) was poor. I don't know why people talk about gluten free when vegan is mentioned - they are not the same........

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hydro2017, Receptionist at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Anne T,
We appreciate the time you have taken to leave this review. Thank you for your honest feedback and your positive comments in relation to our accommodation and cleanliness. We are , however, sorry to hear that your breakfast experience was disappointing. Despite catering for a large number of guests and groups including, our staff work very hard to make sure that each and every stay is above satisfactory. We are sorry that, on this occasion, we failed to provide such level of service. Your feedback will help us improve our service, so , once again, thank you.
Kind regards,
Aksana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews