We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff extremely friendly”
Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hydro Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Reviewed 27 March 2017

The room was quite large had it booked for 2 people but there was a double as well as a single bed in the room. The bathroom was very well kitted out with plenty of towels. The food for dinner was nice and the breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of food and the staff kept asking did we want more of anything and not the usual 2 slices of toast they came back a few times asking if we needed anything else.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank strang01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hydro2017, Receptionist at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for a positive feedback on our staff, rooms and hotel facilities. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Aksana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for The Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Where to begin...(1) The bar staff attempted to over-charge me 3 times on the same night - every staff charged a different price for the same drink [€4.30, €4.70, €5.10] and only for I coping it I'd be out of pocket - it might have been a ploy to see what they could get away with. (2) If you asked 3 staff members the same question, you would get 3 different answers e.g. one staff told us entry was €15 but another said it was free and another said to come back as they hadn't decided yet. You might also get the politician answer of a question in response to a question e.g. Me: "Can you tell me which way is the ballroom please?" Staff: "Depends, what do you want with the ballroom?" (3) They were very unhelpful in assisting with any query and to me they always appeared defensive or guarded and didn't have the customer service skills that I am used to, such as, basic politeness. (4) One staff member insisted on this hotel policy which I'm not sure exists, i.e. my friend checked his jacket into the coat room, lost his ticket stub, went to reception the following morning to retrieve his jacket and she said she'd have to take all his details and pass them onto the local guards and they'd question him about it to make sure it was definitely his jacket and that he wasn't trying to steal another visitors jacket - the jacket was from Penneys and even if it was designer, it's a complete over-step as he was able to describe the jacket in full, say the time he handed it in and the staff member that took it so I think that's proof enough that he was telling the truth. Like what were the guards going to do? - put the jacket in one room and my friend in another room, question to two of them and hope their stories matched lol...I'm joking of course but that's the level of ridiculousness we had to deal with during our stay ....I could go on and on and on with more points and examples but I think I've made my point that this hotel for whatever reason was not up to standard during our visit and I think they need to get their act together. I wouldn't stay here again as there is no need for staff to be so rude, unhelpful, unorganized or to treat their customers so badly. Your job is to provide a service - learn to do it, simple as.

Stayed: October 2016
2  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

My friends and I stayed at the Hydro for two nights of the Matchmaking Festival, and had sooo much fun. The reception staff were friendly, helpful and always on hand. They (especially Bridget) made us feel like returning again next year (and possibly every year after!). Yes, if you are looking for an ultra modern, city style hotel with shine and glitz, this is not for you, but then you are not in London, Paris or NY! Part of the charm is it`s slightly dated, homely décor, but it is still spotlessly clean and has all necessary amenities. As stated in a previous review, the glass door to the bathroom is slightly surprising, but it does have a net curtain on. I`m not sure if ALL the rooms have this, so it might be worth asking if it freaks you out. Maybe something for the hotel to consider? Otherwise the room was cosy and warm with a double and single bed.Breakfast service was prompt and efficient and there was a fair (although not extensive) choice of full Irish, porridge, cereals and fruit. The bar area is large, yet still welcoming and there is a lovely dance floor where the excellent musicians kept us entertained. It is very busy during the festival, so do not go at this time if you`re looking for P&Q. The only reason I cannot give 5 stars is because we did not sample the dinner menu and in the bar at night, there was a 2 euro charge for a glass of tap water which seemed to be taking advantage.

Room Tip: Any room with a view is lovely. Higher floors quieter during the festival.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank iloveipanema64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

In comparative terms rate accommodation as VERY GOOD. Dinner quality; 3* food at restaurant prices, so better value can be obtained elsewhere. Staff in all areas were EXCELLENT, efficiency & effectiveness with natural charm - WELL DONE GUYS.

Tap WATER @ €2 per glass - take note IRISH WATER. To be fair this 'rip-off' was not confined to The Hydro and was applied @ all other venues visited during my stay. So take note!!!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PMacS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Quirky, I think is the best way to describe this hotel.Full of nooks and crannys but I wouldn't really say it was ultra modern, the glass panelled door in the bathroom was a first! The bar area was nice and the staff were friendly, overall a clean friendly quirky hotel

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishmanCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
1.6 km away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
179 reviews
0.2 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
178 reviews
0.2 km away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
315 reviews
3.9 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
9.6 km away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: €88 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna
The Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing