We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school charm”
Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hydro Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Reviewed 7 October 2016

My friends and I stayed at the Hydro for two nights of the Matchmaking Festival, and had sooo much fun. The reception staff were friendly, helpful and always on hand. They (especially Bridget) made us feel like returning again next year (and possibly every year after!). Yes, if you are looking for an ultra modern, city style hotel with shine and glitz, this is not for you, but then you are not in London, Paris or NY! Part of the charm is it`s slightly dated, homely décor, but it is still spotlessly clean and has all necessary amenities. As stated in a previous review, the glass door to the bathroom is slightly surprising, but it does have a net curtain on. I`m not sure if ALL the rooms have this, so it might be worth asking if it freaks you out. Maybe something for the hotel to consider? Otherwise the room was cosy and warm with a double and single bed.Breakfast service was prompt and efficient and there was a fair (although not extensive) choice of full Irish, porridge, cereals and fruit. The bar area is large, yet still welcoming and there is a lovely dance floor where the excellent musicians kept us entertained. It is very busy during the festival, so do not go at this time if you`re looking for P&Q. The only reason I cannot give 5 stars is because we did not sample the dinner menu and in the bar at night, there was a 2 euro charge for a glass of tap water which seemed to be taking advantage.

Room Tip: Any room with a view is lovely. Higher floors quieter during the festival.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank iloveipanema64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for The Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2016

In comparative terms rate accommodation as VERY GOOD. Dinner quality; 3* food at restaurant prices, so better value can be obtained elsewhere. Staff in all areas were EXCELLENT, efficiency & effectiveness with natural charm - WELL DONE GUYS.

Tap WATER @ €2 per glass - take note IRISH WATER. To be fair this 'rip-off' was not confined to The Hydro and was applied @ all other venues visited during my stay. So take note!!!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PMacS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Quirky, I think is the best way to describe this hotel.Full of nooks and crannys but I wouldn't really say it was ultra modern, the glass panelled door in the bathroom was a first! The bar area was nice and the staff were friendly, overall a clean friendly quirky hotel

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishmanCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We ate here on the four nights that we stayed in Lisdoonvarna. The Service was excellent, food was good. The menu was the same every night for the month of September. It would be nice to vary the menu. Staff are so nice.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank silverfox26241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Four nights here were four nights too long on a group tour. The hotel is tired and in need of a total revamp. The bedroom was cramped - why place a single bed in addition to a double in a room which was hardly big enough for the double bed. No chairs so the only place to sit in the room was on the bed. Mould on the window frame. The lighting was poor making it impossible to read in the room after dark. The bathroom also had a lot of mould in evidence and a loose hand rail over the bath. The towels were small, thin and did not dry properly. The food was poorly cooked. Little choice at breakfast and the evening meal frequently inedible with lots returned to the kitchen uneaten. The serving staff were cheerful but badly trained, reaching over several people to serve when it was easy to do the normal serving over a diner's shoulder. The wrong dish was also brought out from time to time which suggested a disorderly kitchen system.
Lisdoornvarna has little to commend it as a place to stay with only a smokehouse (currently fire damaged) and a disused spa building to visit apart from several bars and a couple of tea rooms. Not particularly good as a touring centre and public transport not particularly convenient.
In summary, the Hydro hotel is not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prapharat K, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear Howard
Thank you for your feedback, following your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely important to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.
The Hydro hotel is a listed period property and has been decorated in a traditional but classic style. It is over 140 years old and is updated on a yearly basis; we are planning to upgrade some of our rooms during the winter months.
In most of our double rooms, we provide an extra bed as many customers like to have this option, but we also have double rooms, without the additional bed. It would have been no problem moving you to a different room, if you had let us know straightaway.
I am sorry to hear about the mould in the bathroom and faulty fittings – this clearly is not acceptable and will be addressed by our maintenance team straightaway.
Every room has a stool provided, as standard. We have lots of chairs in the hotel and could have brought one to your room if you had requested it. All the rooms are lit by a standard 28 watt bulb. We only use new towels at the hotel and these are provided on a daily basis by our laundry company.
We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with food or service in our restaurant. We cater for thousands of people every year, with very few complaints. Our staff would have been happy to offer you a different choice of dish, if they had known you were dissatisfied with the food.
Finally, we endeavour to provide the best service to all our customers during their stay. If this is lacking in any way, we encourage all our guests to tell us straightaway, so that we can resolve any issues at the time.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our priority is to offer our guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Please contact me directly at hydrohotel@eircom.net if you would be willing to come back to the hotel and let us turn your experience around.

Prapharat Khamphumee
General Manager
Hydro Hotel
Lisdoonvarna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
1.6 km away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
179 reviews
0.2 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
178 reviews
0.2 km away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
315 reviews
3.9 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
9.6 km away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: €88 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna
The Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing