We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hydro Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Reviewed 8 June 2016

This hotel was lovely, the staff were very friendly and helpful with any queries we had. The location was perfect right on the Main Street of lisdoonvarna a beautiful little village in the west of Ireland. The hotel provide plenty of information about tourist spots an scenic views which was very helpful as we got to do and see a lot while we were there. The food was lovely and the bar had a great apmosphere at night it also had entertainment . Overall this hotel is the perfect place to stay if your travelling to
lisdoonvarna amazing.

Room Tip: This hotel has beautiful views from all sides
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for The Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the Hydro in Lisdoonvara in April for five nights solo. The hotel is really beautiful and the staff fantastic. There are many interesting paintings and the owner has clearly invested a lot of love and pride in the hotel. It's got real character and my room was comfy large and warm. There is great attention paid to guests' well-being. All staff have been trained and are attentive. This is very rare. The hotel is the best managed hotel I've ever been in. It was busy but even though I wasn't part of a group I was served promptly and staff were friendly and extremely pleasant. Lisdoonvara is a lovely town in the heart of Co Clare near to all amenities. It's a really nice place for a break in the Spring. The hotel is also very reasonable.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Ideally situated for exploring The Burren and all Co Clare has to offer. Staff were so eager to please. Food was delicious. The diverse mixture of staff nationalities ensured people from all over world received a warm welcome, and an Irish session and dome Orish dancing every evening ensured great Craic was had by me (a dub) and my husband (kildare). Marcus White was so lovely and took time from his busy day to welcome myself and husband and give us tips on places to see. We will definitely be back for a visit.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank chrispauree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Stopped off here on a road trip with two friends
We could not get over how brilliant we were treated
The staff were so friendly
The rooms were spotless
The food in the restaurant was top class

I will return here with my family
Thanks again

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank UncleHerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

visited this hotel during the Matchmaking festival, nice hotel and decor and location. Very brightly lit dining room, 3 of us ordered, 1 steak meal, 1 fish meal and 1 turkey/ham, well to say the fish was the worst i have ever been served in a restaurant EVER is an understatement! frozen fish which was soaked in oil, obviously had been cooked and then put back into the oil and it just soaked it all up! sent it back and another arrived out bout 20 mins later exactly the same! Asked to speak to the chef, he didnt venture out but the manager did, proceeded to explain to me how fish was cooked dipped into the batter etc. we all started laughing as it was so obviously out of a packet, but he then told me out of 100 people served that day, i was the only one who complained! it was totally inedible, they did take if off the bill but were totally unapologetic for it, basically i was a complainer! my friends steak was grey as were the vegetables, same for other meal, we ate the boiled potatoes. Couldnt believe they would serve fish like that when they are next to a harbour!! serving staff were lovely, Manager arrogant and will never go back there again for food! Music and bar were fun!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank beachbabeatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visitor experience. We are sorry to hear that you did not like your fish and you have received the explanation of fish preparation in our restaurant. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and we always try to meet the needs of our guests as best as we can. In case that does not happen, we try to find best solutions for both parties. That is why you have not been charged.

However we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the matchmaking festival, the music and lovely staff.

All the best,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
1.6 km away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
179 reviews
0.2 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
179 reviews
0.2 km away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
315 reviews
3.9 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
9.6 km away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: €88 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna
The Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing