We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hydro Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Rathbaun Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Spa Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gregans Castle Hotel(Ballyvaughan)
US$572
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Hotel & Spa(Ennistymon)
US$182
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
King Thomond Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
105
99
32
19
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
99
32
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms were spotlessluxury accommodationsecurity staffexploring the local areavery nice hotelhotel is situatedwarm atmospheredining roomother hotelsstaff were so friendlygood sizebooked this hotelthe perfect place to staybacon cabbagethe hotel managerlive musicirish music
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the Hydro in Lisdoonvara in April for five nights solo. The hotel is really beautiful and the staff fantastic. There are many interesting paintings and the owner has clearly invested a lot of love and pride in the hotel. It's got real character and my room was comfy large and warm. There is great attention paid to guests' well-being. All staff have been trained and are attentive. This is very rare. The hotel is the best managed hotel I've ever been in. It was busy but even though I wasn't part of a group I was served promptly and staff were friendly and extremely pleasant. Lisdoonvara is a lovely town in the heart of Co Clare near to all amenities. It's a really nice place for a break in the Spring. The hotel is also very reasonable.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Ideally situated for exploring The Burren and all Co Clare has to offer. Staff were so eager to please. Food was delicious. The diverse mixture of staff nationalities ensured people from all over world received a warm welcome, and an Irish session and dome Orish dancing every evening ensured great Craic was had by me (a dub) and my husband (kildare). Marcus White was so lovely and took time from his busy day to welcome myself and husband and give us tips on places to see. We will definitely be back for a visit.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank chrispauree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Stopped off here on a road trip with two friends
We could not get over how brilliant we were treated
The staff were so friendly
The rooms were spotless
The food in the restaurant was top class

I will return here with my family
Thanks again

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank UncleHerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

visited this hotel during the Matchmaking festival, nice hotel and decor and location. Very brightly lit dining room, 3 of us ordered, 1 steak meal, 1 fish meal and 1 turkey/ham, well to say the fish was the worst i have ever been served in a restaurant EVER is an understatement! frozen fish which was soaked in oil, obviously had been cooked and then put back into the oil and it just soaked it all up! sent it back and another arrived out bout 20 mins later exactly the same! Asked to speak to the chef, he didnt venture out but the manager did, proceeded to explain to me how fish was cooked dipped into the batter etc. we all started laughing as it was so obviously out of a packet, but he then told me out of 100 people served that day, i was the only one who complained! it was totally inedible, they did take if off the bill but were totally unapologetic for it, basically i was a complainer! my friends steak was grey as were the vegetables, same for other meal, we ate the boiled potatoes. Couldnt believe they would serve fish like that when they are next to a harbour!! serving staff were lovely, Manager arrogant and will never go back there again for food! Music and bar were fun!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank beachbabeatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visitor experience. We are sorry to hear that you did not like your fish and you have received the explanation of fish preparation in our restaurant. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and we always try to meet the needs of our guests as best as we can. In case that does not happen, we try to find best solutions for both parties. That is why you have not been charged.

However we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the matchmaking festival, the music and lovely staff.

All the best,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

This is an old style hotel, with good character and great staff. The rooms are good, not great, with good bathrooms and basic facilities. The breakfast is typical hotel fare, and during the height of the festival this place deals with a huge crowd of people. Free parking, good security, decent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and especially the world’s famous matchmaking festival! Thank you for a positive feedback on our staff, rooms and hotel facilities.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews